It’s Been 4 Years, Y’all

Standard
4 Years

4 Years

It’s been 4 years here at BeautyinBudgetBlog.  4 years.  That is the longest that I have ever worked on any single project in my entire life.  And I have to say that it has been a hell of a ride over the last 4 years.  This is my 738th post.  I have thousands of comments.  I have been able to interact with people, not just all over the country, but all over the world.  I’m lookin’ at you Botswana, Albania, Kenya, Slovenia, Hungary, Saudi Arabia, Brazil, and 153 other countries that are too many to name but all equally amazing to me.  I never in a million years would have ever guessed someone from Azerbaijan (or anywhere else for that matter) would ever care what I have to say.  I started this blog for a couple reasons.  I thought that it would be fun.  I wanted a place to talk about my growing obsession with makeup with other people who were equally obsessed.  And, it has been a lot of fun.  My mother might look at me strangely when I am on the edge of my seat awaiting Tarte’s new Holiday releases, but the internet geeks out with me over each new collection.  I love being an active member of the beauty community, and it really has become a “community” in every sense of the word.  In addition to the fun, I also wanted to start this blog as a service to others.  I am often frustrated by the makeup machine that keeps producing more and more product for higher and higher prices.  So many people on Youtube and in blogs were gushing over the higher-end brands, but there weren’t nearly as many people focused on drugstore brands or cheaper alternatives.  It is so hard to tell what is worth spending our money on, and that was my primary goal.  I wanted to explore beauty that fits into a budget so that you don’t have to drop half a paycheck to get glammed up.  I have gotten countless comments over the years with people telling me that this blog has saved them money and introduced them to products that they never would have considered otherwise.  I’ve gotten comments from women who had given up on makeup, but now have a renewed interest thanks to the blog.  Even better, I’ve gotten comments from people who feel more beautiful and confident as a result of playing with techniques and products that they have discovered through this blog.  I think that is so wonderful, and exactly why I do what I do.

I know that makeup can be a frivolous thing, and it is easy to look at this blog in the same way.  I have certainly done it at at times.  But when I really think about it, the connections that I have made and the feedback that I have gotten is anything but frivolous.  I am blown away and humbled by the consistent love and support that I have been shown over the last 4 years.  I am so flattered that any of you read my words, and I am so honored that I have been able to help you in a small way.  I don’t know what the future will look like here at BiBB, but I appreciate you being along for the ride.  Thank you for the last 4 years.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

4 responses »

  1. Congrats on four years! 🎉

    I think I first came across your blog while looking for affordable dupes. My interest and makeup collection has only gotten out of control since! 😜

  2. Congratulations!! Four years is quite an accomplishment. I haven’t been reading for quite that long, but I think I found you maybe two and a half years ago, and have enjoyed your blog ever since! I’m so glad that there are other beauty junkies like me so I don’t have to geek out about the latest palette release all by my lonesome. 😉

    Keep up the great work!!

Leave a Reply

