L’Oreal Paris Feria Power Violet High-Intensity Shimmering Colour

Standard
L'Oreal Paris Feria Power Violet Hair Color

L’Oreal Paris Feria Power Violet Hair Color

Today I want to talk about L’Oreal Paris Feria Power Violet High-Intensity Shimmering Colour.  I have colored my own hair for years, and though I have tried other brands, I am loyal to L’Oreal Feria.  I find that the formula works best for me.  So, when I saw that L’Oreal Feria had put out some fun colors earlier this year, I had to try the Power Violet shade.  I had purple hair back in college, and really liked it.  I’ve been debating for a long time now if I wanted to do purple again, but I wasn’t sure if I wanted to take the plunge on such a wild and also high-maintenance hair color.  Purple is even worse than red when it comes to upkeep.  When I saw L’Oreal Feria Power Violet, I figured it was a good compromise.  Power Violet is not purple, but the shade leans purple, making it different, but not too far out there.  Lat’s take a closer look.

L'Oreal Paris Feria Power Violet Hair Color

L’Oreal Paris Feria Power Violet Hair Color

L’Oreal Paris Feria Power Violet High-Intensity Shimmering Colour is meant to be used on brown hair.  I am not sure why that is, and I can’t say what would happen if a blonde used it.  My guess is that the color would pull more pink or magenta, but I can’t say for sure.  The side of the box shows the projected color outcome based on how dark your hair is (like all at home hair dye).  If you have colored your hair before, you will be familiar with the process.  Be sure to thoroughly read the directions, though, because there are a couple differences with L’Oreal Feria Power Violet.  The formula of the dye is very runny, more so than other L’Oreal Feria formulas.  It helps to have a buddy help you out so that you don’t end up with spots of dye on the floor, surfaces, or walls of the room you are in.  My hair was pretty long when I dyed it the first time, and it was a real pain.  The runny formula was difficult to keep under control.  I have since cut my hair and dying it was much easier the second time around.  Here is the result on my hair.

L'Oreal Paris Feria Power Violet Hair Color

L’Oreal Paris Feria Power Violet Hair Color

I took a picture both indoors and outdoors so you could see it in different lighting.  You can see that L’Oreal Feria Power Violet comes off as a red-toned violet shade.  I think most people will be able to get away with it in an office environment, unless you have a very strict dress code.  Indoors, the color is a cherry coke shade that I think is perfectly appropriate.  It’s not until you step into the light that the purple tones come out in the violet color.  This picture was taken over two months ago.  The color stayed very well in my hair, which really surprised me.  Red and Purple are high-maintenance shades that fade quickly.  But Power Violet held on and on.  Obviously my roots grew out as time went on, but the violet color hardly faded at all.  I liked the color so much that I used Power Violet again the last time I dyed my hair.  It is not purple, but the violet is an interesting color and I got a lot of compliments on it.  Unless you have the strictest of dress codes, I definitely think that you should give L’Oreal Paris Feria Power Violet High-Intensity Shimmering Colour a try.  I purchased both of my boxes from Ulta for the rewards points, but L’Oreal Paris Feria Power Violet High-Intensity Shimmering Colour is widely available in stores and online.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

6 responses »

  1. Ahhhh I love this shade! I’m so jealous; I’m allergic to hair dye and can’t color my hair at all. But posts like this make me want to!!

  2. I just used this hair dye yesterday. I love it! My hair came out really similar to yours in the photos, we must have had similar hair colors before 🙂 let me know how yours is fading! I’m curious to see what it looks like in a few weeks. I’m hoping it stays some kind of a pretty red color and doesn’t end up too brassy… I’m using L’oreal Everpure moisturizing shampoo and conditioner for color treated hair, so hopefully that helps!

    • I find that the color lasts on me for three weeks before it starts to fade a little, but I don’t need to dye it again until the 5 or 6 week mark (although my roots are pretty grown out by then). When it fades, it does so pretty well. I find that it darkens as more of my brown under color comes out, so it goes from a vibrant violet shade to brown with a reddish hue. It doesn’t turn brassy on me at all. HTH!

Leave a Reply

