Ipsy September 2015

Standard
September 2015 Ipsy Bag

September 2015 Ipsy Bag

I received that big pink envelope in the mail that can only mean one thing- it’s Ipsy time again!  For those who are new to the blog and don’t know, Ipsy is a beauty subscription service.  For $10 a month (plus tax in some states), you will receive a makeup bag containing 4-5 deluxe beauty samples.  You often receive full size products, and the overall value of each bag will vary from month to month, but it is always well over the $10 subscription fee.  So let’s get into it.

September Ipsy bag

September Ipsy bag

You guys.  Look at this bag!  I was surprised by how luxe the bag looks this month.  It is made of a soft leather-like vinyl material in a warm bronze shade.  There is a really neat texture on the front that glams it up.  It reminds me of a stylish handbag, and I will definitely be using it.  It looks expensive and I really like it.  I would probably pay $10 just for the bag, so there is the subscription fee right there.  But let’s get into the products.

Vasanti Cosmetics Brighten Up! Exfoliating Cleanser

Vasanti Cosmetics Brighten Up! Exfoliating Cleanser: “Rev up your skin with this powerful exfoliating treatment that’s packed with the natural ingredients necessary to get a bright, sexy glow. The best part? One step and you’re done! You’ll see smoother, brighter skin as soon as you rinse. 100% Paraben-free, 100% Vegan. Not Tested On Animals.”  Full size is 120 g, worth $34 at vasanticosmetics.com.  Sample size 20 g, worth $5.67.

 

Bayberry Naturals Rosehip & Hibiscus Moisturizer

Bayberry Naturals Rosehip & Hibiscus Moisturizer

Bayberry Naturals Rosehip & Hibiscus Moisturizer: “This Rosehip & Hibiscus Moisturizer is the ultimate facial lotion. Lightweight, yet moisturizing, it’s super-packed with nutrients to aid delicate facial skin. Rosehip oil is rich in omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids. Hibiscus extract is rich in antioxidants, as are vitamins E, B3, Pro-Vitamin A, and Pro-Vitamin B5- all providing both protection against free radicals as well as natural anti-inflammatory properties. Lightweight, absorbs easily and super moisturizing. Free of sulfates, parabens, phthalates and artificial fragrances and dyes. 100% vegan.”  Full size is 4.6 fl oz, worth $17.95 at bayberrynaturals.com.  Sample size .5 fl oz, worth $1.95.

Evelyn Iona Cosmetics Cream Blush in ASH

Evelyn Iona Cosmetics Cream Blush in ASH

Evelyn Iona Cosmetics Cream Blush in ASH: “This cream blush has a formula that melts into your skin and delivers a healthy dose of organic goodness. This cruelty and paraben free cream blush will leave you with a natural, dewy look and skin that will thank-you! Natural & Organic. Paraben and cruelty-free. Made in USA, and $1 from every product sold is donated to woman’s organizations.”  Size info is not available at evelyniona.com or anywhere else that I could find, but I found the size of the concealer which is priced the same as this blush at $18.75.  I am assuming that they are the same size, 3 g.  Sample size of the blush is .06 oz or 1.7 g, worth $10.63.

tre'StiQue Mini Matte Lip Crayon

tre’StiQue Mini Matte Lip Crayon

tre’StiQue Mini Matte Lip Crayon: “Fall in love with this new matte lip color. It’s buttery soft, rich, yet light as air and uber comfortable with a futuristic vibrant finish. Infused with Vitamin E, and Monoi Tahiti Butter for moisturization and antioxidant properties. Deposits rich color that you can build. Contains Vitamin E and Monoi Tahiti Butter. Modern radiant matte finish.”  This product doesn’t seem to be available full size, but a trio of minis is available for $32 at trestique.com, so one mini would be a third of that, worth $10.67.

NYX Cosmetics ipsy Eye Shadow Trio

NYX Cosmetics ipsy Eye Shadow Trio

NYX Cosmetics ipsy Eye Shadow Trio: “This 3-color eye shadow palette gives you go-anywhere intensity day or night thanks to the highly pigmented formulations. Provides intense eye colors with a silky texture for seamless application for any eye look that you desire. It consists of 3 complementing eye shadows to wear together or alone. Each eye shadow provides great color payoff with every application. Create any look on the go with the help of the dual applicator that allows you to apply, smudge and line your eyes effortlessly. Exclusive palette designed by NYX just for ipsters!”  This is full sized, and worth $6 at nyxcosmetics.com.

Ipsy

Ipsy

The grand total of my September 2015 Ipsy bag is $34.92, not counting the totally gorgeous bag itself.  I am happy with everything that I got.  I’ll use all of it, and nothing in the bag is a dud product for me.  To be fair, I am not “wowed” or extremely excited by any one product either, but that’s okay.  This is a solid bag, and I am happy to try everything.  I like that Ipsy keeps sending me all natural and vegan products lately.  I also am a big fan of NYX, and own a couple of those trios already.  I know that I will like the shadows a lot.  Good job Ipsy.  If you still haven’t signed up for Ipsy, and would like to get your own Ipsy bag, go ahead and click on this referral link or click on the link under the “Check this out” heading on the right hand side of the page.  You can also click on the “Ipsy” tag under the category section to see my past Ipsy bags for a better idea of what you can expect.  If you are already a subscriber, what did you think of your September 2015 Ipsy bag?  Did we get the same things or did you get different items?  Were you happy, disappointed, or ambivalent?  Let me know in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

  1. Good bag this month! I absolutely LOVE that Vasanti BrightenUp! scrub; I like to use it in the shower, since steam helps to activate exfoliating enzymes. (Maybe you already knew that, but if not – there’s your fun fact for today!) And that cream blush seems to be a very pretty shade. Hopefully the texture is great, too! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

