Makeup Revolution Essential Mattes Redemption Eyeshadow Palette

Standard
 Makeup Revolution Essential Mattes Redemption Eyeshadow Palette

Makeup Revolution Essential Mattes Redemption Eyeshadow Palette

Today I have my first ever Makeup Revolution review to show you.  I purchased the Essential Mattes Redemption Eyeshadow Palette from Ulta.  I mentioned way back in July that Ulta had picked up this UK drugstore brand and is selling their products online at ulta.com.  I had heard a lot of great things about Makeup Revolution, and I had to check them out.  I opted to get the matte shadow palette because mattes are difficult shadows to pull off, and if a drugstore brand can do them well, we need to know about it.  The palette is .375 oz, and retails for $7.  Because it falls under the drugstore category, Makeup Revolution products are eligible for the $3.50 off of $10 coupon that Ulta regularly offers.  I wasn’t really sure what to expect, but at such a low price I figured that I didn’t have much to lose.

Makeup Revolution Essential Mattes Redemption Eyeshadow Palette

Makeup Revolution Essential Mattes Redemption Eyeshadow Palette

The Makeup Revolution Essential Mattes Redemption Eyeshadow Palette comes in a plastic case with a clear top.  No mirror, but we are talking about a $7 palette, after all.  The packaging is cheap, but functional.  Please excuse the gouge taken out of the last shadow.  As soon as I opened it up I dropped the palette and my thumb nail went into the shadow.  (sigh)  There are twelve shadows in the palette, and it comes with a long double-sided applicator with sponge tips.  I personally don’t like to use this type of applicator, but it could be handy in a pinch.

Makeup Revolution Essential Mattes Redemption Eyeshadow Palette

Makeup Revolution Essential Mattes Redemption Eyeshadow Palette

The thing to note about the Makeup Revolution Essential Mattes Redemption Eyeshadow Palette is that all of the shades are very cool in tone.  If you are someone with cool undertones and often find neutral palettes have too many warm shades for you, then you are going to love this.  I personally would have appreciated a better mix of warm and cool tones to make this palette truly neutral, but I can see that it fills a need where the market is lacking.  (Not everyone wants those warm bronzy browns.)  The shadows have decent pigmentation.  They are soft and powdery, but not chalky.  You definitely want to tap off your brush to avoid fall-out.  The shadows blend well together.  Now let’s look at the shades.

Makeup Revolution Essential Mattes Redemption Eyeshadow Palette

Makeup Revolution Essential Mattes Redemption Eyeshadow Palette

The first four shades are all highlight colors.  The first is an off-white cream shade, then a light buttery yellow tone, followed by a soft pink and soft peach.  I find these shades pretty redundant.  I personally don’t feel that there is enough of a difference to warrant all four shades.  They do make great browbone highlights, though.

Makeup Revolution Essential Mattes Redemption Eyeshadow Palette

Makeup Revolution Essential Mattes Redemption Eyeshadow Palette

The next four shades include a tawny brown that is a great transition shadow, followed by a medium chocolate brown.  Next is a light gray with a subtle pink undertone and a medium taupey gray.  These four are great shades and I find them very useful for everyday looks.

Makeup Revolution Essential Mattes Redemption Eyeshadow Palette

Makeup Revolution Essential Mattes Redemption Eyeshadow Palette

The final four shades start off with a light-medium slate blue, a really interesting and unique shade for this kind of palette.  Then we have a matte black, great for using as a liner.  The final two shades are very similar plum toned mauve shades, one a little darker than the other.  I have been loving these last two shades a lot, more so than I expected that I would.

The Makeup Revolution Essential Mattes Redemption Eyeshadow Palette shadows last eight hours or so on me if I use a primer.  They will get you through the work day, but not for any activities later.  Those with oily lids may see fading closer to the 6 hour mark, but I’m not 100% sure on that.  They did not crease on me.  I think that for a $7 palette, the Makeup Revolution Essential Mattes Redemption Eyeshadow Palette is a good buy.  Right now Makeup Revolution is only available in the US online at ulta.com, and not in stores, but hopefully that will change soon.  I didn’t have high expectations, but for those looking for a matte palette and can work with cooler tones, the Makeup Revolution Essential Mattes Redemption Eyeshadow Palette is a good option.  It isn’t the best palette I have ever tried, but it is a really nice drugstore palette.  I’d say give it a try.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

3 responses »

  1. Actually, Makeup Revolution is available in ULTA stores. I bought the Unicorns Unite palette from a store on 9/5. The other closest ULTA did NOT have Makeup Revolution, so it appears it is only available in some stores.

  2. Pingback: Makeup Revolution Ultra Professional Blush Palette in Sugar and Spice | Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

