Ipsy October 2015

Standard
Ipsy October 2015

Ipsy October 2015

It’s Ipsy time!  I got my October Ipsy bag in the mail today.  For those who are new to the blog and don’t know, Ipsy is a beauty subscription service.  For $10 a month (plus tax in some states), you will receive a makeup bag containing 4-5 deluxe beauty samples.  You often receive full size products, and the overall value of each bag will vary from month to month, but it is always well over the $10 subscription fee.  October’s theme is “Alter Ego: Dare to be different. This October, transform into whoever you want to be.”  The bag itself is black patent leather (or possibly vinyl) on one side, and gold textured (faux) leather on the other.  It isn’t my personal style, but I can see some people really liking it.  Now, onto the products.

theBalm Cosmetics Mary-Lou Manizer

theBalm Cosmetics Mary-Lou Manizer

theBalm Cosmetics Mary-Lou Manizer: “Meet Mary-Lou Manizer, a seemingly innocent honey-hued luminizer that catches everybody’s eye. This highlighter, shadow and shimmer diffuses light so your skin looks softer and younger while adding a subtle glow. A gorgeous highlighter, shadow and shimmer in a universally flattering shade. It is cruelty-free and contains no parabens or talc. Brow bones. Cheek bones. Corner of the inner eye. Cupids bow. Apply this highlight to these four areas and you’ll have a gorgeous glow.”  Full size is $24 for 8.5 g at thebalm.com.  Sample size is .57 g, worth $1.61.

AYRES Pampas Sunrise Hand Cream

AYRES Pampas Sunrise Hand Cream

AYRES  Pampas Sunrise Hand Cream: “This ultra-rich, luxurious hand cream is enriched with shea butter, plant emollients and herbal extracts that deeply moisturize dry skin. Formulated with fast absorbing lightweight oils, it penetrates quickly to leave behind smooth, non-greasy, supple skin with improved elasticity. Lemongrass, mandarin, bergamot, patchouli and spearmint will awaken your senses, while an exotic background of cedar wood releases a musky scent. Super moisturizing non-greasy ipsy-exclusive sample. Keep your hands moisturized while the seasons are changing – it’ll save you from cracked and dry skin.”  Full size is $12.50 for 1.4 oz at ayresbeauty.com.  Sample size is .7 oz, worth $6.25.

Nourish Organic Pure Hydrating Argan Face Serum

Nourish Organic Pure Hydrating Argan Face Serum

Nourish Organic Pure Hydrating Argan Face Serum:This highly concentrated face treatment is designed to deeply hydrate and reveal smoother, softer and more supple skin with improved tone. Moroccan argan oil, packed with restorative omega fatty acids, intensely hydrates and replenishes. Apricot kernel oil moisturizes and softens skin while helping retain clarity. Rosehip oil smoothes skin texture and helps even out tone. Fragrance-free, gluten-free, and vegan. Brightens and revitalizes complexion. Smoothes texture and helps even out tone.”  Full size is $23.99 for .7 oz at nourishorganic.com.  Sample size is .5 oz, worth $17.14.

Tarte deluxe LipSurgence skintuitive lip gloss in energy

Tarte deluxe LipSurgence skintuitive lip gloss in energy

Tarte deluxe LipSurgence skintuitive lip gloss in energy: “Infused with pH-adjusting skintuitive technology, this sophisticated glossy lip formula is infused with rich antioxidants to help smooth the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles while delivering intense hydration and your own custom, complexion-enhancing shade of pink. Flower extract drenches lips in moisture for heathy, hydrated lips. Jojoba seed oil is a natural soothing extract that leaves lips soft, supple and smooth. Vitamin E is a natural preservative that also acts as an emollient and antioxidant. Ipsters who sample the lip gloss will receive the shade Energy (custom pink). This skintuitive formula responds to your skin’s natural pH and energy, giving you a personalized tint that is truly your own unique shade.”  Full size is $19.00 for .27 fl oz at tartecosmetics.com.  Sample size is .05 fl oz, worth $3.52.

Coastal Scents Xpress Line Cosmetic Pencil

Coastal Scents Xpress Line Cosmetic Pencil

Coastal Scents Xpress Line Cosmetic Pencil: “Xpress Line pencils are for anywhere you want xtra color, xpressive highlights, and xact definition. Highly pigmented, long-lasting formula.”  This is full size, worth $2.95 at coastalscents.com.

Ipsy October 2015

Ipsy October 2015

The grand total of my October 2015 Ipsy bag is $31.47.  I have been really happy with my Ipsy bags the last couple of months, but October’s bag just doesn’t do it for me.  It’s not that the products are bad, per se, but I know what some other people got in their Ipsy bags and I would much rather have had those products instead.  The IT Cosmetics Hello Lashes mascara, Laura Geller Baked Blush, and Girlactik Beauty Precise Marker Liner are all products that I would have loved to get.  Instead, I got theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer for the third time (I gave the previous two away), a gimmicky lipgloss that doesn’t really do anything, and a simple wooden black eyeliner that I could have gotten the equivalent of at the drugstore.  Now to be fair, I am very happy about the Nourish Organic Pure Hydrating Argan Face Serum and the AYRES Pampas Sunrise Hand Cream, and the two of them make up for my $10 subscription fee.  I am just personally disappointed in the products that I received compared to what other products were out there.  Maybe it’s just a personal preference thing.  I know that Mary-Lou Manizer is very popular, and I’ve heard great things about tarte Lipsurgence lipgloss.  I just would have rather had the other things.  Oh well, maybe next month will be better.

If you still haven’t signed up for Ipsy, and would like to get your own Ipsy bag, go ahead and click on this referral link or click on the link under the “Check this out” heading on the right hand side of the page.  You can also click on the “Ipsy” tag under the category section to see my past Ipsy bags for a better idea of what you can expect.  If you are already a subscriber, what did you think of your October 2015 Ipsy bag?  Did we get the same things or did you get different items?  Were you happy, disappointed, or ambivalent?  Let me know in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

Leave a Reply

