Halloween Tutorial: Sweet and Sassy Giraffe

Standard
Sweet and Sassy Giraffe

Sweet and Sassy Giraffe

Halloween is almost upon us, but if you are like me you may still be unsure of your costume.  I was wandering the Halloween aisles at Target, and saw this adorable giraffe headband.  It was only $3, and I knew that I had to get it for a Sweet and Sassy Giraffe Halloween tutorial.  This makeup is not as hard as it looks, but it is really time consuming.  Make sure that you have at least an hour (if not more, depending on your skill level) to dedicate to the makeup look.  Once you have the makeup done, the rest of the costume can be as simple or as complicated as you desire, but we will discuss that later.  Also be sure to check out my previous Halloween tutorials to learn how to transform in to a Glamour Cat and a Totally Outrageous 80’s Jem-style Rocker.  Let’s get into the makeup.

Tools

Tools

Before we start, I want to stress that you do not have to use the exact products that I used.  There aren’t any unusual products here, so you should be able to use what you already have in your collection. Here is what you will need:

  • A good eye primer. I used a sample of Bare Minerals Prime Time Eyelid Primer.  If you have NYX Jumbo Eye pencil in Milk or a similar white base, then you may want to use that all over the lid and around your eye area to save yourself a step later.  Unfortunately I misplaced my Milk, so I had to do without it.
  • Eyeshadow in matte dark brown, matte white, and matte black.  I used the Coastal Scents 88 Warm palette for almost the entire look, but any shadows will do.
  • Brown Eyeliner.  I chose the Rimmel Scandaleyes Khol Kajal Liner because I wanted that subtle sparkle.
  • Black Eyeliner.  I chose the e.l.f. Essential Waterproof Eyeliner Pen for my lid and the NYX Slide On Glide On Pencil liner for my lower lash line, but any black liner will work.
  • Gold Eyeliner.  This may be the only item that you don’t already have.  You can find gold liner pretty easily this time of year.  I used Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencil in El Dorado.
  • Optional False lashes.  I tried.  I really did.  I think this look would be great with false lashes because giraffes have long lashes, but I couldn’t make them work for me.  Falsies, you are my nemesis and I conceded my defeat.  Those ever elusive long fluttery lashes were not in the cards for me this time.  Perhaps you will have better luck.

Start with your normal primer and foundation routine.  If you want to, you can use a light bronzer to warm up the edges of your face.  Do not contour, but a little around the temples and jaw line is good.  Prime your entire eye area (and use your white base if you have it).  I also recommend filling in your brows at this point so that you have a good frame for the eye makeup.  I filled my brows in with the same mix of brown shades from the 88 Warm Palette that I used for the giraffe spots.

Giraffe Step 1

Giraffe Step 1

Step 1:  Lightly dust some dark brown shadow on the lid and low on the crease.  I used the same shade that I will be using for the giraffe spots.  Blend the edges with a tan or peach shade but be sure not to go too high.  This step is just to get some color on the lid, but it will be overshadowed by the rest of the look, so don’t worry too much about getting it perfect.

Giraffe Step 2

Giraffe Step 2

Step 2:  Using a small detailed brush and dark brown shadow, create small square-ish shapes.  Leave a small space between the brown spots, and vary the size and shape.  Giraffes have asymmetrical spots, so you are not looking for perfection.

Giraffe Step 3

Giraffe Step 3

Step 3: Continue the pattern all around your eye area including above the brow, under the eye, and toward the nose.  You want the spots on the inside of your face and on the eye to start small, gradually getting larger as you approach the outside of the face and the cheek.

Giraffe Step 4

Giraffe Step 4

Step 4: If you do not have NYX Jumbo Pencil in Milk or another white base, take a matte white eyeshadow and fill in the area between the spots.  This step isn’t absolutely necessary, but it adds a lot to the overall look.  If you are pressed for time, you can skip it, but I think it is worth the effort.  I used the white in the Wet n Wild I (Heart) Matte palette.

Giraffe Step 4

Giraffe Step 5

Step 5: With the gold eyeliner, place a dot/dash in the center of each brown square.  Again, this step adds a ton of dimension to the look and makes a huge difference.  I warned you in the beginning that this look was time consuming, but you will love how the gold liner transforms everything and takes it to the next level.

Giraffe Step 6

Giraffe Step 6

Step 6: Line your eyes and add mascara.  I used the e.l.f. Essential Waterproof Eyeliner Pen for my upper lash line and the NYX Slide On Glide On Pencil liner for my lower lash line and waterline.  I also smudged some black eyeshadow on my lower lash line.  I flicked my liner out for a baby wing.  I don’t recommend a dramatic wing for this look, but if you are comfortable with false lashes, more power to you.

Giraffe Eyes

Giraffe Eyes

Congratulations, the eyes are done!  Make yourself some coffee or tea.  Have a cookie.

Giraffe Step 7

Giraffe Step 7

Step 7: On the forehead we are going for a subtle triangular shape.  Make the spots that are closest to the nose smaller, getting larger as you go up the forehead.  These spots should be less square shaped than the spots on the eye, but it is essentially the same thing.  Instead of adding gold to these spots, you want to take the brown liner and outline the shape of the spots.  I chose to do a partial outline on the inside spots and fully outlined the ones on the edge to make the transition more subtle.

Giraffe Step 8

Giraffe Step 8

Step 8: Starting on outer edge of the cheek, make medium sized spots with a flat shader brush, gradually getting larger as you move toward the jaw and neck.  You don’t want to bring them in too much because you want the center of the face and neck to be empty.  You can move toward the center over the collarbone and chest, but you never want the sides to meet.  The spots/squares on the neck and chest should be quite large.  Your spot pattern will depend on your outfit.  Make sure to carry the pattern over your shoulders and down your arms if they are exposed.  Just remember, larger spots on the chest and shoulders getting gradually smaller and more sparse down the arm toward the wrist.  Leave the inner arm bare, and you don’t have to do your hands.  If you are in a colder climate and will have your skin covered, you can stop at the neck and chest area.

Giraffe Step 9

Giraffe Step 9

Step 9: Outline your spot pattern with the brown liner.  By this point I was really pressed for time so I was not as careful as I should have been.  I’ll admit that I got a little sloppy with this step, but I was running so late.  It also may be hard to see the edges of all of your spots, so if you have a buddy willing to help you out with reaching all of the spots on your neck, it may help.  When you are done, lightly spray yourself with setting spray.

NYX Butter Gloss in Praline

NYX Butter Gloss in Praline

Step 10: Choose a lip color.  I opted for a medium nude gloss, though you can do any color that sings to you.  This is NYX Butter Gloss in Praline.

Sweet and Sassy Giraffe

Sweet and Sassy Giraffe

Makeup is done.  Yay!!!  Put on your super cute Giraffe ears and snap a selfie.  You earned it.

For the rest of the costume, if you have anything with a giraffe print on it then you are ahead of the class.  But really, a tan or brown shirt or tank top paired with a brown or black skirt or pants is all you need.  The makeup is elaborate and is the real star of the show, so the costume is less important. Personally, I had everything I needed to put this costume together already.  I only bought the ears, so my total giraffe look cost me $3.  Hopefully most of you will also already have most of these items and can replicate the look pretty easily.  I love the way it came out.

I hope that you enjoyed this tutorial.  I am very happy with it, and it really is easier than it looks.  It’s just time consuming.  I hope I explained myself thoroughly and that you find this tutorial easy to follow.  People will be pretty impressed with your mad skills if you show up with this makeup look.  I would love to know if you try this Sweet and Sassy Giraffe look for yourself, so be sure to let me know in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

4 responses »

  1. Very cute and fun! I’m not really a Halloween person, but I enjoy seeing other people’s creative costume ideas (and makeup!). Well done! Did you get to wear this look to a party?

Leave a Reply

