LORAC Mega Pro 2 Review and Swatches

Standard
LORAC Mega Pro 2

LORAC Mega Pro 2

I finally broke down and bought the LORAC Mega Pro 2 Palette and have it to show you today.  I really went back and forth when it came to deciding whether or not to buy this palette.  I’ll discuss my reservations later, but ultimately the LORAC Pro formula and some truly beautiful shades finally won me over.  Luckily, unlike the first Mega Pro palette, the Mega Pro 2 was made in a much bigger batch, so people could actually easily get their hands on it.  The palette is exclusive to Ulta, but it is still definitely available.  I was bummed to have missed out on the first Mega Pro palette.  I personally love the LORAC Pro shadow formula.  I think that they are pigmented, silky, and blend like a dream.  As I have mentioned several times on this blog, the LORAC Pro 2 palette is probably my favorite of all the palettes that I own.  I finally decided that I would regret it if I missed out on this one as well.  So let’s take a look.

LORAC Mega Pro 2

LORAC Mega Pro 2

The LORAC Mega Pro 2 is twice the size of the regular Pro palettes.  It comes in the same type of sturdy cardboard packaging as previous Pro palettes, and it has that rubberized NARS-like coating on the outside.  There is a large mirror on the inside flap, and it is good quality so you could definitely use it to do your makeup.  LORAC chose dark blue theming for their Holiday 2015 collection, and the Mega Pro 2 is no exception.  I think LORAC made a mistake making the inside packaging blue.  It does the shadows a real disservice and makes the palette look much more cool toned than it actually is.  I think the color was off-putting for a lot of people, and I think they would have been more inspired if the shadows were set against a black background instead.  The palette has 16 matte shades and 16 shimmer shades.  As far as I know, there are no repeat shades from previous Pro palettes with the exception of Black (which is in all of them).

LORAC Mega Pro 2

LORAC Mega Pro 2

LORAC really knows how to do matte shadows, and the 16 matte shadows in this palette are fantastic.  They are silky smooth and very finley milled.  LORAC is known for their super soft shadows kicking up a lot of powder.  You do have to use a gentle hand and not dig into the shadows.  If you are rough with your palettes, you may want to steer clear of this formula.  I don’t usually have an issue with it though, because I find the shadows so pigmented that I can use a light hand to still achieve an intense look.  The shimmer shades range from satin shimmer to full-on metallic, with two micro-glitter shades.  There are two shades that needed some building up, Cabernet and Gold Leaf.  Otherwise, the shadows are fantastic.  The real issue that I had with this palette, and the reason it took me so long to decide to buy it, is that there are so many light shades.  The shimmery highlight shades are especially redundant.  At least three of the light shades could have been scrapped for something else and no one would have missed them.  I would have loved to see a matte cobalt blue shade, as well as shimmery emerald and cranberry shades to round off what we did get.  That being said, I am in love with a good portion of the shades in this palette.  Take a look.

Porcelain, Custard, Tawny and Burlap

Porcelain, Custard, Tawny and Burlap

  • Porcelain- Matte, very light skin tone shade
  • Custard- Creamy matte shade with yellow undertones
  • Tawny- Warm orangey brown matte shade
  • Burlap- Matte, warm, light camel color, comes off lighter than it looks in the pan
Melon, Tangerine, Saddle, and Forest

Melon, Tangerine, Saddle, and Forest

  • Melon- Peachy orange matte shade
  • Tangerine- Warm, burnt orange matte shade
  • Saddle- Cool-toned matte brown
  • Forest- Matte blackened green shade, comes off darker than it looks in the pan
Bisque, Lavender, Purple, and Sorbet

Bisque, Lavender, Purple, and Sorbet

  • Bisque- Matte, very light creamy pink shade
  • Lavender- Matte cool-toned lavender
  • Purple- Matte, mid-tone smoky purple
  • Sorbet- Light pink-toned mauve

Gogi, Cabernet, Ash, and Black

  • Goji- Medium pink/berry-toned mauve.  This shade has more of a matte/satin finish.
  • Cabernet- Dark plum with brown undertones.  This shade needed to be built up.
  • Ash- Deep charcoal gray
  • Black- Matte black
Sugar, Chiffon, Prosecco, and Soft Plum

Sugar, Chiffon, Prosecco, and Soft PlumSugar, Chiffon, Prosecco, and Soft Plum

  • Sugar- Shimmery cream shade
  • Chiffon- Light shimmery pink
  • Prosecco- Metallic champagne shade with silver undertones
  • Soft Plum- Metallic taupey-mauve shade with plum undertones
Cinnamon, Sandstone, Gunmetal, and Blue Quartz

Cinnamon, Sandstone, Gunmetal, and Blue Quartz

  • Cinnamon- Metallic copper shade
  • Sandstone- Warm, metallic taupe
  • Gunmetal- Medium metallic gray
  • Blue Quartz- Shimmery electric blue
Moonlight, Seashell, Peony, and Dk. Sienna

Moonlight, Seashell, Peony, and Dk. Sienna

  • Moonlight- Shimmery cream shade with subtle yellow undertones
  • Seashell- Shimmery blush shade
  • Peony- Warm, metallic peachy pink
  • Dk. Sienna- Very deep, warm-toned brown satin finish with very subtle micro-glitter
 Penny, Olivine, Gold Leaf, and Black Ivy

Penny, Olivine, Gold Leaf, and Black Ivy

  • Penny- Metallic bronze
  • Olivin- Metallic taupe with subtle olive undertones
  • Gold Leaf- Shimmery yellow gold.  This shade needed to be built up.
  • Black Ivy- Blackened green? (looks black) satin finish with very subtle gold micro-glitter

There are some gorgeous shades in this palette.  It is a good mix of cool and warm toned shades and is quite versatile.  There are more light shades than I would like, but there are only three or four shades in the whole palette of 32 that I can’t really see myself using.  That’s not bad.  I should point out here that I did not pay full price for the LORAC Mega Pro 2.  I got a 20% off coupon from Ulta right before I left for vacation and I had $9 worth of Rewards Points to redeem.  I ended up saving around $20, so the palette cost me $38 instead of $59.  I am not sure if I would have still gotten the palette if I had to pay full price.  I do really love it and I am so glad that I decided to buy it, but the far left side of the palette leaves a lot to be desired.  What are your thoughts?  Did you buy the LORAC Mega Pro 2?  Are you enjoying it?  Let me know your thoughts in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

Leave a Reply

