e.l.f. Daily Hydration Moisturizer

Standard
e.l.f. Daily Hydration Moisturizer

e.l.f. Daily Hydration Moisturizer

Today I want to talk about the e.l.f. Daily Hydration Moisturizer.  E.l.f. launched a brand new skincare line earlier this year with four products.  The line has now been expanded to six products, and e.l.f. will be adding more in the future.  I’ll admit, I was pretty skeptical at first.  Super cheap skincare makes me wary, and I wasn’t sure if e.l.f. could pull it off.  The e.l.f. skincare line has gotten some good reviews though, so I thought it was time to give it a try.  Because of my dry skin, I figured the best way to test the waters of e.l.f.’s new skincare line would be to try some moisturizer.   I use Micheal Todd True Organics at night, but I am willing to try different things for daytime.  I picked up the e.l.f. Daily Hydration Moisturizer, not really knowing what to expect.

e.l.f. Daily Hydration Moisturizer

e.l.f. Daily Hydration Moisturizer

Before we talk formula, let’s talk packaging.  I love the overall look of the skincare line.  The light blue shade reminds me of a spa.  I am used to e.l.f.’s cardboard packaging that, while functional isn’t anything special.  They really stepped it up with the skincare line.  The light blue box is plastic with a touch of translucence.  Though obviously it has nothing to do with the products itself, the new style made the product feel more legit somehow.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t a fan of the actual product design.  While I love that the moisturizer comes in an opaque tube with a pump that is ideal for keeping ingredients stable and avoiding contamination, it’s not designed well.  There is no tube attached to the pump, so you have to keep the moisturizer vertical with the pump upside down or else it will stop pumping after a few uses.  The base isn’t quite wide enough, so it keeps trying to tip over and it’s uncomfortable in the hand trying to pump upside down.  E.l.f. may want to consider a re-design.

 

e.l.f. Daily Hydration Moisturizer

e.l.f. Daily Hydration Moisturizer

Here is what e.l.f. has to say about the Daily Hydration Moisturizer: “This lightweight, lightly scented moisturizer helps hydrate and nourish for glowing, healthy looking skin. Infused with Purified Water and skin-nourishing Jojoba, Aloe, Vitamin E and Cucumber to help soothe and protect the delicate skin area. Rich in antioxidants such as Shea Butter, Grape and Orange.”  There are two flaws in the formula, right off the bat.  First is that the moisturizer does contain fragrance.  Now, it is a light, clean scent that I actually really like, but fragrance is never desirable in skincare.  The second, more glaring flaw is that this daytime moisturizer does not contain any SPF.  Come on e.l.f., you can do better than that.  Other than those issues, I do like the formula.  I don’t think that it is as lightweight as e.l.f. claims.  The formula is actually pretty thick going on, and it melts into the skin leaving a nice level of hydration.  I think it may be too much for someone with oily skin.  Normal and dry skin will enjoy the feeling. I thought that the hydration lasted most of the day and I had no issues applying makeup over it.

e.l.f. Daily Hydration Moisturizer

e.l.f. Daily Hydration Moisturizer

Unfortunately, while I liked the e.l.f. Daily Hydration Moisturizer it ended up breaking me out.  While I don’t have overly sensitive skin, I have had reactions to certain products in the past, so others may not have any breakouts with the e.l.f. Daily Hydration Moisturizer.  For me, though, I am going to have to pass it on.  The moisturizer does have some good points, so I don’t want to call it a dud, but I had enough issues with it that I can’t really recommend it either.  The e.l.f. Daily Hydration Moisturizer is $8, regular price.  I think that considering the price, it has a decent formula, but there aren’t any ingredients that will knock your socks off.  It’s not hard to find comparable skincare at the drugstore and you will definitely find better, though at a higher price point.  If you are still curious and your skin is not oily or sensitive, try to catch it on a sale.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

5 responses »

  1. I’ve bought the eye cream from this line a couple of times now, and I like it pretty well. It doesn’t really have any life-changing ingredients, but it gets the hydration job done. It also has packaging issues, though; it comes in a gigantic jar that takes up WAY too much room in my cabinet, and I hate that I have to stick my finger in it every time. Wish it were in a bottle with a pump instead, but otherwise it’s not terrible for the price point. Sorry the moisturizer made you break out!

  2. Pingback: Monthly Favorites (and Fails) for November and December 2015 | Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

