New E.l.f. Lip Kiss Balm Review

Standard
e.l.f. Lip Kiss Balms

e.l.f. Lip Kiss Balms

Today I want to talk about the new e.l.f. Lip Kiss Balms.  These new balms came out in late October, and e.l.f. originally released four shades for $2.00 each.  I got three out of the four.  Not long after that, e.l.f. released four more shades for a total of eight.  I went ahead and snagged a couple more on a free shipping deal, so now I have five out of the eight shades available.  I guess after explaining that, it is no surprise for me to say that I like these e.l.f. Lip Kiss Balms, but the formula was not at all what I expected.  Let’s take a look.

e.l.f. Lip Kiss Balms

e.l.f. Lip Kiss Balms

E.l.f. describes these new Lip Kiss Balms as follows: “This beautifully tinted lip balm helps create baby soft lips so you can always be kissable! Each color provides a sheer tint of coverage for a lovely and luscious lip effect. Infused with Vitamin A & E, Grape Seed Oil, and Jojoba Oil to help nourish, protect, and moisturize lips. The silky smooth formula glides on lips for lasting comfort while the minty flavor keeps lips feeling fresh.”  Honestly, I think e.l.f. is way off with this description.  The Lip Kiss Balms don’t act like standard tinted lip balms, in my opinion.  I feel like the Lip Kiss Balms are a cross between a cream lipstick and a tinted lip balm.  They have a lot pf pigmentation and they are not as moisturizing as my other lip balms.  I expected them to have  lot more slip than they do because of the word “balm” in their name.

When I first applied the Lip Kiss Balms they were stiffer than I expected.  They do warm up on the lips, however, and sink in.  There is a noticeable minty smell and taste, and they do have a slight tingle upon application.  I have mentioned many times how much I disapprove of mint in lip products.  Mint is an irritant, and I am not a fan.  Luckily the tingle is slight and short lived.  After the first minute or so the minty tingle is gone along with the scent.  The taste lingers a little longer, but no more than five minutes.  After the balms warm up on your skin, they feel very comfortable.  I don’t think they are as moisturizing as the lip balms that I like to use on a regular basis, but they are moisturizing for a lip product with as much color as they have.  Certain shades are more opaque than others, and you can certainly build up to a very bold look with some of them.  The lighter shades tend to be more sheer, but all of them have decent color payoff.  I picked up a pretty good selection of shades.

e.l.f. Lip Kiss Balms

e.l.f. Lip Kiss Balms

  • Bare Kiss is a sheer, warm nude shade that is a little lighter than my natural lip color.  It is more typical of a tinted lip balm.
  • XO Red is a pink-toned red shade that is as pigmented as a lipstick.  When I heard “tinted lip balm” I did not expect this, and I think that term is misleading in a shade like this one.  It is a very pretty shade, but definitely not one that you can slap on without a mirror.
  • Berry Sweet is a sheer berry shade with plum undertones.  This shade can be sheered out like in the lip swatch below, or it can be built up for a stronger look.
  • Kissing Coral is a bold orange-toned coral shade.  There is a lot of color with this shade, and it is the only one that I have with actual shimmer particles included.  Again, the term “tinted lip balm” seems inappropriate for this shade.
  • Smoochy Spice is a sheer pinky mauve shade.  It is similar to Bare Kiss, but pinker and cooler in tone.  This shade is more typical of a tinted lip balm, and it is pretty much the same color as my lips.

Here are some lip swatches:

e.l.f. Lip Kiss Balms

e.l.f. Lip Kiss Balms

Here is a swatch on my hand.  Left to right and then top to bottom we have Bare Kiss, XO Red, Berry Sweet, Kissing Coral, and Smoochy Spice.  The e.l.f. Lip Kiss Balms last about two hours on me before I feel that I need to re-apply.  Because they have typical lip balm type packaging and design, they have a wide flat head.  It can be hard to get a precise application with the bolder colors.

e.l.f. Lip Kiss Balms

e.l.f. Lip Kiss Balms

While I think that the e.l.f. Lip Kiss Balms are a bit misleading, I do ultimately like them.  They are not the same as reaching for a Fresh Sugar Tinted Lip Treatment or even a Maybelline Baby Lips, but they are comfortable to wear and they look nice.  They are also dirt cheap.  At $2 each, they are a bargain.  If you can get over the troublesome application and mintiness, I think you would really enjoy them.  Once they warm up on my lips they feel great.  If the mint is not a deal breaker, go ahead and give them a try.  I believe that right now they are only available at eyeslipsface.com, but keep checking your local Targets and the drugstores that sell e.l.f.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

Leave a Reply

