Ipsy January 2016

Standard
IMG_4732

Ipsy January 2016

It is finally Ipsy time again!  This bag took so long to get here!  If I remember correctly, last month’s bag was late too.  Winter weather must be wreaking havoc on shipping.  Anyway, I finally got that big pink envelope in the mail.  For those who are new to the blog and don’t know, Ipsy is a beauty subscription service.  For $10 a month (plus tax in some states), you will receive a makeup bag containing 4-5 deluxe beauty samples.  You often receive full size products, and the overall value of each bag will vary from month to month, but it is always well over the $10 subscription fee.  The theme for January is “All Eyes on You.  Keep your eyes on the prize this month! We’re bringing you all the must-have products to prettify your peepers.”

IMG_4727

Ipsy January 2016

Look at this bag!  I love it.  The back is plain blue, but the front has this adorable pop art print of faces with sunglasses.  I am definitely keeping and using this one.  It is super cute and fits perfectly with this month’s theme.

IMG_4750

MARSK Mineral Eyeshadow in You’re Toast

MARSK Mineral Eyeshadow in You’re Toast: “MARSK Mineral Eyeshadows are 100% natural, mineral based loose powder that are strictly cruelty free (not tested on animals) and available in a range of striking shades that offer endless colour possibilities for a professional makeup effect. Featuring a creamy texture, these highly pigmented powders are easily blendable and offer you the ability to create depth and intensity around the eye.”  This is a full size product, worth $22.50 at marskcosmetics.com.

IMG_4735

Beau Gâchis Paris Smudge Brush

Beau Gâchis Paris Smudge Brush: “This Beau Gâchis Paris Smudge Brush is ideal for creating that soft, smoldering smoky look. The shorter bristles allow this brush to pick up the right amount of shadow, allowing you to control how much you want to apply.”  This brush is $12 at beaugachis.com.

 

IMG_4741

theBalm Cosmetics Mr. Write (Now) in Jac B. Bronze

theBalm Cosmetics Mr. Write (Now) in Jac B. Bronze: “We have a Mr. Write (Now) for every day of the week… and then some! Meet this new collection of attractive eyeliners that are truly easy on the eyes. These pencils deliver the long-lasting color you’ve been looking for, and have built-in sharpeners so they are always ready when you are. With high payoff, eight wearable shades, and a satin smooth texture, we understand why your eyes wander- but rest assured, your eyeliner won’t!“This product is full size and worth $17 at thebalm.com.

IMG_4748

pur~lisse BLUE LOTUS 4-in-1 Eye Adore Serum

pur~lisse BLUE LOTUS 4-in-1 Eye Adore Serum: “Blue Lotus eye serum is enhanced with active ingredients like French marine plants, Matrixyl 3000 and Haloxyl that bring 4 times the power against aging. This formula works together to fight against wrinkles, dark circles and puffiness, while hydrating and lifting the delicate eye area.” Full size is $65 for .5 oz at shop.purlisse.com.  Sample size is .24 oz, worth $31.20.

IMG_4745

Mitchell and Peach English Leaf Body Cream

Mitchell and Peach English Leaf Body Cream: “This indulgent body cream contains Vitamin E, shea & cocoa butter and organic English honey to soften, nourish and protect your skin. It rubs in and absorbs easily, without the stickiness. It is delicately scented with the lush, aromatic English Leaf fragrance, it’s a classical ‘green floral’ with an English twist.” Full size is £36 for 180 ml at mitchellandpeach.com which comes to $51.12 according to Google.  Sample size is 30 ml, worth £6, or around $8.52.

IMG_4723

Ipsy January 2016

The grand total worth of my January Ipsy bag comes to a whopping $91.22 (that is, if I got the exchange rate right).  Plus the adorable bag.  It was definitely worth my $10 subscription fee.  I am happy with my January bag.  These are definitely products that I wouldn’t have tried otherwise, but now that I have them, I am excited to give them a shot.  I will get good use out of all of the products, and I can’t say that any of them are duds.  Way to go Ipsy!  I also redeemed some Ipsy points this month.  If you review your products on Ipsy’s website or refer friends, you earn Ipsy reward points that can be exchanged for certain products.  In addition to my regular bag, I redeemed my points for this sample from Glamglow.

IMG_4756

GLAMGLOW SUPERMUD Mask

GLAMGLOW SUPERMUD Mask: “SUPERMUD is our most Scientifically Advanced Clearing Treatment. Developed by GLAMGLOW to help fight common skin concerns. Designed For Men & Women. SUPERMUD for Super Clear Super Poreless Skin.” Full size is $69 for 1.2 oz at glamglowmud.com.  Sample size is .3 oz, worth $17.25.

You can click on the “Ipsy” tag under the category section to see my past three years worth of Ipsy bags for a better idea of what you can expect.  If you still haven’t signed up for Ipsy, and would like to get your own Ipsy bag, go ahead and click on this referral link or click on the link under the “Check this out” heading on the right hand side of the page.  If you are already a subscriber, were you as happy with our January bag as I was?  Did we get the same things or did you get different items?  Let me know in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

