Review of e.l.f. Lip Exfoliator in Sweet Cherry

Standard
e.l.f. Lip Exfoliator in Sweet Cherry

e.l.f. Lip Exfoliator in Sweet Cherry

Today I want to talk to you about the new e.l.f. Lip Exfoliator in Sweet Cherry.  I reviewed the original e.l.f. Lip Exfoliator when it was brand new way back in 2012.  It’s a good product, though I was never a big fan of the taste, which reminded me of artificial sweetener.  Recently, e.l.f. released two new flavors of Lip Exfoliators for a total of three.  The two new flavors are Mint Maniac and Sweet Cherry.  If you’ve been following for awhile, then you know that I am firmly against mint on your lips because it is an irritant and completely counter-productive to lip health.  There was no way that I was going to pick up Mint Maniac.  I chose Sweet Cherry instead.  Let’s take a look.

e.l.f. Lip Exfoliator in Sweet Cherry

e.l.f. Lip Exfoliator in Sweet Cherry

In case you are unfamiliar, here is what e.l.f. says about their Lip Exfoliators: “Gently exfoliate lips to remove dry, chapped skin with our Lip Exfoliator! A sweet sugar and smoothing sensation, infused with Vitamin E, Shea Butter, Avocado, Grape and Jojoba Oils to nourish and protect. This Lip Exfoliator treats and smoothes lips for a conditioned and revitalized feel. Apply to clean, damp lips and massage in a circular motion to exfoliate.  Follow with a lip balm or gloss to condition.” The e.l.f. Lip Exfoliator is, in essence, a sugar scrub in a tube.  E.l.f. changed the Exfoliator packaging a  little with these new flavors, but not by much.  The only real difference is that the new flavors have a clear space at the bottom to show off the color of the Exfoliator.  Otherwise. the packaging is the same lipstick tube design that housed the original.  The bullet swivels up and down just like a lipstick.  That’s the part that I really love about the e.l.f. Lip Exfoliator- that it is designed like a lipstick.  Lip scrubs that are in jar form can be kind of a pain to use.  They can be a little messy.  But the e.l.f. Lip Exfoliators are super easy and convenient to use.  They are essentially mess-free and travel friendly.  With a simple wipe of a tissue to clean away any excess granules you are done- no muss no fuss.  It literally could not be easier.

e.l.f. Lip Exfoliator in Sweet Cherry

e.l.f. Lip Exfoliator in Sweet Cherry

In my opinion, Sweet Cheery is an improvement over the original exfoliator.  Though Sweet Cherry is by no means a natural flavor, it tastes less chemically than the original.  It smells like candy, and almost (but not quite) tastes like candy.  I try not to taste my exfoliator at all, but sometimes it is inevitable.  I can’t really say that I like the Sweet Cherry flavor, but I like it better than the original by far.  The formula of the new flavors is a little different than the original.  Sweet Cherry is just as moisturizing as the original formula, but the granules are smaller than the original, so it is less abrasive.  As far as which one is better, it is really a matter of preference.  Some people like an exfoliator with large granules for a a hard-core exfoliation.  Others find those exfoliators too abrasive and almost painful.  I like both formulas, but I think that I prefer the new, less abrasive formula more.

I still think that the original e.l.f. Lip Exfoliator is a good product.  If you personally hate fruity candy scents and tastes, then you should definitely stick to the original.  But for me, I think that the next time I purchase a Lip Exfoliator, it will be the e.l.f. Lip Exfoliator in Sweet Cherry.  I like the new formula and I prefer the taste to the original one.  I think e.l.f. did a good job on it.  It is definitely worth checking out.  You can find the e.l.f. Lip Exfoliators here on e.l.f.’s website.  They may be available in some stores, but it varies regionally.  The Lip Exfoliators are $3 each, which is a great price.  Have you tried any of the e.l.f. Lip Exfoliators?  Let me know your thoughts in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

3 responses »

  1. I have one of the original Lip Exfoliators from e.l.f. and use it nearly every day! I was considering getting one of the new “flavors,” but wasn’t sure which one to try. I’m honestly not too keen on cherry, but you make a good point about mint being a lip irritant. Maybe I’ll just stick to the original! 😉

Leave a Reply

