Ipsy February 2016

Standard
February 2016 Ipsy

February 2016 Ipsy

It’s Ipsy time again!  The last couple of bags were pretty slow in coming, but February’s bag arrived sooner than expected, which I really appreciate.  For those who are new to the blog and don’t know, Ipsy is a beauty subscription service.  For $10 a month (plus tax in some states), you will receive a makeup bag containing 4-5 deluxe beauty samples.  You often receive full size products, and the overall value of each bag will vary from month to month, but it is always well over the $10 subscription fee.  The theme for February is “Pretty in (Ipsy) Pink- This February we are taking our favorite shade from dainty to daring with rule-breaking looks for all beauty lovers.”   I was worried for a minute because I am not the biggest fan of pink unless it is very bold, but it turns out that the theme wasn’t really an issue.

February 2016 Ipsy bag

February 2016 Ipsy bag

Look at this bag!  I love it.  The front is textured vinyl that is meant to look like a pixelated envelope with a heart in the center.  It is so cute.  The back is screaming pink smooth vinyl.  Seriously, I love everything about this bag.  I would probably pay $10 just for the makeup bag, so there is the subscription fee right there.  But let’s get into the products.

Smashbox Cosmetics Photo Finish Primer Oil

Smashbox Cosmetics Photo Finish Primer Oil

Smashbox Cosmetics Photo Finish Primer Oil: “The Power of a Primer. The Luxury of a Face Oil. Fall in love with your skin — before you put on makeup — with the first ever primer specially formulated in a lightweight, lustrous oil. This fast-absorbing hero blend of 15 essential and lipid-rich plant oils penetrates instantly to moisturize your face for seamless foundation application with a dewy, youthful finish. In fact, you might think twice before you reach for your makeup. Softens complexion to make foundation look like skin. Also apply a few drops to split-ends, cuticles, elbows and clavicle for a dewy, youthful sheen.”  Full size is $42 for 1 fl oz at smashbox.com.  Sample is .13 oz, worth $5.46.

Paula Dorf Baby Eyes Enhancer

Paula Dorf Baby Eyes Enhancer

Paula Dorf Baby Eyes Enhancer: “Soft, creamy eye-enhancing pencil with Vitamin E for smooth application that won’t drag. Inspired by the beautiful baby eyes of Paula’s nephew, this baby-toned pencil brightens the lower rim of the eye.”  Full size is $20 for .4 oz at pauladorf.com.  Sample is .02 oz, worth $1.

Luxie Beauty Flat Definer Brush 221

Luxie Beauty Flat Definer Brush 221

Luxie Beauty Flat Definer Brush 221: “The flat definer brush is decorated in signature Luxie fashion – an opulent pink handle and alluring rose gold ferrule. Handcrafted with synthetic bristles, this vegan makeup brush is both cruelty-free and paraben-free. Coated in a revolutionary antibacterial solution, the brush is fresh and clean on the skin. Meanwhile, the tight density of the brush creates a precise makeup application. Extremely soft on the skin, this brush is the answer to extreme definition and control.”  This brush is worth $12 at luxiebeauty.com.

Promise Organic Ultra Moisturizing Argan Creme Facial Lotion

Promise Organic Ultra Moisturizing Argan Creme Facial Lotion

Promise Organic Ultra Moisturizing Argan Creme Facial Lotion: “Argan and olive oil deeply moisturizes and replenishes while Promise Organic’s advanced formula instantly improves skin’s texture and smoothness. Great for normal to dry skin. 100% of ingredients are naturally derived. Dermatologist tested and safe for sensitive skin.”  Full size is $14.99 for 1.7 oz at cvs.com.  Sample is .5 oz, worth $4.41.

Chella Lipstick Pencil in Passionate Pink

Chella Lipstick Pencil in Passionate Pink

Chella Lipstick Pencil in Passionate Pink: “The Chella Moisturizing Lipstick keeps your lips soft and will leave you loving your lips! Slip this luxuriously creamy pencil onto your lips. Plus, it’s high in Vitamins C & E and Sunflower Oil. Vitamin C and E natural antioxidant.”  Full size is $18 at chella.com, but I can’t find the weight of the product.  The sample is .04 oz, so I am going to guess that it is around half the size, or maybe just slightly less.  I am going to place the value of this sample at $8.

Ipsy

Ipsy

The grand total worth of my February 2016 bag is $30.87, plus the adorable bag.  I have to be honest, I am not in love with my bag this month.  I don’t line my inner rims or water line, so I probably won’t use the Paula Dorf liner.  I also think that it is super small and it doesn’t add value to the bag.  The Chella lip pencil is okay, but also on the small side.  I’m ambivalent about the brush.  I don’t need another definer brush, but I do have an extensive collection, so others may be very happy to receive this brush.  I have used Luxie Beauty brushes in the past and have liked them, so the quality is there.  I am happy to try the Promise Organic Facial Lotion and am actually excited about the Smashbox Pimer Oil.  I guess that overall this bag was just ho-hum for me.  That’s okay, I liked my two previous bags a lot, and Ipsy can’t win them all.  If you still haven’t signed up for Ipsy, and would like to get your own Ipsy bag, go ahead and click on this referral link or click on the link under the “Check this out” heading on the right hand side of the page.  You can click on the “Ipsy” tag under the category section to see my past Ipsy bags for a better idea of what you can expect.  If you are already a subscriber, what did you think of your February 2016 Ipsy bag?  Did we get the same things or did you get different items?  Were you happy, disappointed, or ambivalent?  Let me know in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

Leave a Reply

