March 2016 Monthly Favorites

Standard
March 2016 Favorites

March 2016 Favorites

It’s the first day of April, so that means that it’s time for a Favorites post.  Today I have my March favorites and Fails.  For anyone new to the blog, Monthly Favorites are those products that particularly stood out to me, and ones that I reached for over and over throughout the month.  Fails are products that simply did not work out and I do not recommend, because it is just as important to know what products to avoid as it is to know which ones to get.  March was pretty low key for me, makeup-wise, so you will probably recognize most of these products.  Let’s get onto what I’ve been loving.

Maybelline Dream Velvet Soft-Matte Hydrating Foundation

Maybelline Dream Velvet Soft-Matte Hydrating Foundation

I’ve been wanting a natural-skin look lately, so I am still loving the Maybelline Dream Velvet Soft-Matte Hydrating Foundation.  It just works really well for me.  It has a lovely satin finish, and I can get away with only one layer for nice, natural coverage.  It evens out my redness, but I can still see my freckles ever so slightly peeking through.  I love it.  It’s not for everybody.  If you have normal skin or are only a little dry, you will probably love this foundation. People with very dry skin (thankfully I’ve managed to exit that category) or oily skin will have problems with this formula.  The color selection is also pretty tricky because many of the shades lean either strongly yellow or strongly pink.  But, if you can find a shade match and you are neither too oily nor too dry, this foundation is great.

Ben Nye Luxury Powder in Banana

Ben Nye Luxury Powder in Banana

I’ve been totally digging the Ben Nye Banana Powder this month.  I really like the yellow tones in this powder to help combat my redness.  My skin tone is mostly neutral with some warm yellow undertones, so the banana powder works very well for me.  It is very finely milled and the powder gives me a smooth and brightened look that I enjoy.  Loose powder is not my favorite thing because it is such a mess, but I have been enjoying it a lot.  It gives me a great finished look.

Inglot Palette

Inglot Palette

I’ve been reaching for my Inglot palette a lot this past month.  I was really tempted to get the TooFaced Peanut Butter and Jelly Palette.  Those warm orangey browns really called to me, but I didn’t want to buy it because I thought that there were only a limited number of looks that I could get out of that palette.  Then I remembered that I had similar shades in my Inglot palette and could accomplish roughly the same looks.  Once I started using the palette again, I couldn’t put it down.  For those who haven’t tried them, Inglot shadows are fantastic.  They are extremely pigmented and easy to apply.  This is a Freedom System palette, meaning that I bought the empty palette and then filled it with any shadows I wanted.  The shadows are huge, come in hundreds of shades in a variety of finishes, and are $7 each.  I chose greens, oranges, pinks and gold with a few neutrals to anchor the palette.  There are so many different looks that I can get out of these shadows from extremely bold and colorful, to a neutral day look.  I definitely don’t feel like I need the TooFaced Peanut Butter and Jelly anymore.

Makeup Revolution Ultra Professional Blush Palette in Sugar and Spice

Makeup Revolution Ultra Professional Blush Palette in Sugar and Spice

My go-to blush product all month has been the Makeup Revolution Ultra Professional Blush Palette in Sugar and Spice.  Specifically, I’ve been reaching for the first two shades in the palette.  I have a full review and swatches of all 8 shades in this palette, so be sure to check that out for more details.  The blushes are pigmented, smooth, and last well on my skin.  For $10, you get six blush shades in varying finishes and two shimmer highlight shades. It’s a great palette and I can’t get enough of it.

Giorgio Armani Acqua di Gioia Jasmine

Giorgio Armani Acqua di Gioia Jasmine

I don’t actually have my last favorite to show you, so I am including the product picture.  I got a sample of Giorgio Armani Acqua di Gioia Jasmine from Sephora, and I love it.  I’ve mentioned many times that the original Giorgio Armani Acqua di Gioia is one of my favorite fragrances.  I had to try this version.  I am not great at describing scents, so here is the description from Sephora: “The warmth and serenity of Acqua di Gioia takes on a new lushness with Acqua di Gioia Jasmine. This floral, fruity new interpretation blends key notes of jasmine with green apple, orange flower, and sweet base notes for a greener, crisper interpretation.”  It is just as fresh and clean a scent as the original, but the fruit and florals evoke a completely different experience.  I really love it.

That does it for my favorites, now onto my Fails.  Always keep in mind that my reviews are based on my specific experience with these products, and good or bad, you may have different results.  So, just because I give a product a bad review, it doesn’t necessarily mean that it is a bad product.  It just means that it did not work for me.

CoTZ Face Natural SPF 40

CoTZ Face Natural SPF 40

My first fail was a sample of the CoTZ Face Natural SPF 40 that I got from Ipsy.  I ran out of SPF and was going to be out in the sun, so I threw this item in my makeup bag.  Though it did offer me some sun protection, I felt that it dried out my skin.  I did not like the way that it felt, and I thought that my foundation looked odd layered over it.  This would probably be a great product for someone with oily skin, but it was not a good fit for me.

Smashbox Full Exposure Waterproof Mascara

Smashbox Full Exposure Mascara

My final Fail for March was the Smashbox Full Exposure  Mascara.  I am not sure if this is the waterproof version or not.  It’s in a silver tube, but it doesn’t say waterproof on the product.  I can’t for the life of me remember where I got this mascara (I didn’t go out and buy it), so I can’t check.  Either way, I am not impressed.  First of all, the brush is gigantic.  It is so big that I keep poking myself in the eye.  Second, the formula just doesn’t do anything for me.  My lashes are short and pretty wimpy, so I look for length and volume in a mascara.  Smashbox Full Exposure didn’t help me in either department.  It coated my lashes, but they didn’t look fuller or longer.  It really didn’t work for me at all.

That’s it for my Favorites and Fails for March 2016.  I hope that you saw something that you liked.  I will be trying some new products in April that I recently hauled during Ulta’s 21 Days of Beauty, so stay tuned to see if any of those pop up in my next Favorites and Fails post.  What were some of your favorites for March?  Let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

