Ipsy April 2016

Standard
Ipsy April 2016

Ipsy April 2016

I received that big pink envelope in the mail that can only mean one thing- it’s Ipsy time again!  It’s a couple days earlier than expected this month, so that’s nice.  For those who are new to the blog and don’t know, Ipsy is a beauty subscription service.  For $10 a month (plus tax in some states), you will receive a makeup bag containing 4-5 deluxe beauty samples.  You often receive full size products, and the overall value of each bag will vary from month to month, but it is always well over the $10 subscription fee.  The theme for April’s bag is Dream On: “This month, create looks that celebrate every side of your unique beauty- from natural and understated to high fashion and ultra-glam. We can’t wait to see what you dream up.”

tarte cosmetics LipSurgence lip crème in wonder

tarte cosmetics LipSurgence lip crème

Tarte cosmetics LipSurgence lip crème in Wonder: “The super creamy formula is infused with their famous maracuja oil to leave lips feeling oh-so soft. And we’re beyond obsessed with the soft poppy pink shade. Perfect your pout! Swipe once for a sheer wash of color, or build for more intensity. P.S. It also doubles as a cheek color! Apply to the apples of cheeks and blend for a radiant flush of color.” Full size is $24 for .1 oz at tartecosmetics.com. Sample size is .05 oz, worth $12.

L.A.B.² - Live and Breathe Beauty Just Blending In Brush

L.A.B.² – Live and Breathe Beauty Just Blending In Brush

L.A.B.² – Live and Breathe Beauty Just Blending In Brush: “All brushes are cruelty-free and made with their super high tech ‘FiberLuxe Technology’. They pick up the optimal amount of pigment so you can effortlessly blend like a pro. Peace out, patchy pigment! This fluffy brush applies powder and cream shadows like a dream. The tapered shape makes this brush perfect for not only the eyelid and crease, but for highlighter application too.” This is a full sized product, worth $6.99 at lab2beauty.com.

Elizabeth Mott Show Me Your Cheeks Blush in Peach Pink

Elizabeth Mott Show Me Your Cheeks Blush

Elizabeth Mott Show Me Your Cheeks Blush in Peach Pink: “Sometimes when you want pitch-perfect products, you have to create them yourself–which is exactly what Elizabeth Mott founder Alice K. did. And she’ll stop at nothing to develop the best formulas your money can buy. We’re seriously fan-girling at that can’t-stop-won’t-stop commitment to quality. Baffled by blush shades? Us, too! This one truly works on all skin tones. Plus, it’s totally buildable–so you can take your glow from a subtle sheen to a full-on flush.”  Full size is $23 for 5 g at elizabethmott.com.  Sample size is 2.5 g, worth $11.50.

Moroccanoil brand Moroccanoil Treatment

Moroccanoil brand Moroccanoil Treatment

Moroccanoil brand Moroccanoil Treatment: “Shine on! It’s the original – and best – argan oil treatment that’s won countless awards for its insane hair-perfecting power. Just one use transforms lackluster locks into the super shiny strands of your dreams. It’s also a magical multitasker – the all-in-one product works overtime to condition, style and finish your hair.”  Full size is $44 for 100 ml at moroccanoil.com.  Sample size is 10 ml, worth $4.40.

OFRA Cosmetics Eyeshadow in Bohemian

OFRA Cosmetics Eyeshadow in Bohemian

OFRA Cosmetics Eyeshadow in Bohemian: “With more than 30 years in the beauty industry, founder Ofra Gaito KNOWS skin. Her award-winning skincare and makeup is beloved by everyone from A-listers to beauty insiders. This velvety-smooth shadow gives you bold color with a subtle shimmer finish in just 1 swipe!”  Full size is $15 for .14 oz at ofracosmetics.com.  Sample size is .07 oz, worth $7.50.

The grand total worth of my April 2016 bag is $42.39.  Unlike last month when I was thrilled with my bag, I have mixed feelings about the products that I received this month.  I will never use the Moroccanoil Treatment, so that’s going to a friend.  I am not a fan of the Tarte Lipsurgence formula because they are so minty, though it is a pretty shade.  I was really excited to get the blush, which looks gorgeous in the pan, but it swatches really sheer.  I’m going to have to play with it and maybe use it as a layering blush because it does give a lovely sheen on the skin. On the upside, the blending brush feels nice and I am really impressed with the Ofra eyeshadow.  It is beautiful and extremely pigmented.  So, it’s a bit of a mixed bag this month.  If you still haven’t signed up for Ipsy, and would like to get your own Ipsy bag, go ahead and click on this referral link or click on the link under the “Check this out” heading on the right hand side of the page.  You can click on the “Ipsy” tag under the category section to see my past Ipsy bags for a better idea of what you can expect.  If you are already a subscriber, what did you think of your April 2016 Ipsy bag?  Did we get the same things or did you get different items?  Were you happy, disappointed, or ambivalent?  Let me know in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

  1. May I ask why you would never use the Moroccanoil? I’m just wondering if it’s because of your hair type or because you already have a lot of natural oils in your hair. I have very fine hair and never dreamed I’d fall in love with a hair oil… but here I am, wishing that sample bottle were larger!

    • Yes, for me it’s that I already have so much natural oil in my hair that the last thing I need is more, haha. I’m not disparaging the product, I just don’t use products like that because I don’t need them.

Leave a Reply

