Daily Archives: December 6, 2013

Revlon Colorburst Matte Balms and Lacquer Balms

Standard
Newrevlonbalms

New Revlon Colorburst Matte Balms and Lacquer Balms

Today, I have two of the new Revlon Colorburst Matte Balms and Lacquer Balms to show you.  You all know by now how much I enjoy the Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stains, and these are a similar product from Revlon.  However, each jumbo pencil has a different enough finish and feel to make them three different products.  It’s kind of like Goldilocks and the three bears.  With three different offerings, anyone can find a Revlon Balm that’s just right.

RevBalms1

Revlon Colorburst Matte and Lacquer Balm “protectve” seal

One of the unfortunate differences that the Revlon Colorburst Matte Balms and Lacquer Balms have to the Balm Stains is the protective seal.  While the Balm Stains are encased in plastic and perfectly safe, these new balms have a “protective” seal sticker that doesn’t provide much protection.  It’s very easy to get into the product and then press the seal back down, so be sure to check your balms before you buy them in the drugstore to make sure that they haven’t been tampered with.

Otherwise, the packaging is exactly the same on these new balms as the Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stains.  They are chubby sticks, or jumbo lip pencils that twist up.  They are the same size and hold the same amount of product.  You will be able to tell the difference with them all sitting in your drawer, however, because of the different finishes of the plastic tubes.  The Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stains are in normal plastic, while the Matte balms have a matte plastic finish and the Lacquer balm tubes have a metallic, mirrored finish.

RevBalms2

Revlon Colorburst Lacquer Balm in Coy and Matte Balm in Standout

Though the Revlon Colorburst Matte Balms and Lacquer Balms look almost exactly like the Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stains, they are different.  The Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stains fall somewhere in the middle of the moisturizing scale.  The Lacquer Balms are more moisturizing, and the Matte Balms are slightly less so.  However, I would not call the Matte Balms drying.  Also, these new balms do not claim to offer a staining effect.  They all have the same minty taste and smell that I could do without.  It’s not too bad, though, and goes away very quickly.

RevBalms3

Revlon Colorburst Lacquer Balm in Coy

I got the Lacquer Balm in Coy, which is a medium brown with pinky-mauve undertones.  It also has gold shimmer.  I have seen swatches of all of the Lacquer Balms online and they all contain some glitter or shimmer, some less than others.  Though the shimmer doesn’t put me off entirely, I would have preferred them without.  I know that will be a deal breaker for some.  As the color wears off, you are left with just shimmer on the lips, which can look odd.  Coy doesn’t have as much shimmer as some of the other shades.

RevBalms6

Revlon Colorburst Lacquer Balm in Coy

Coy is decently pigmented, though the Lacquer Balms do have a finish that is more on the sheer side.  They can be built up.  Coy is comfortable to wear and the Lacquer Balms are pretty moisturizing.  The shimmer is not gritty, even after the color wears off.  Unfortunately, the wear-time isn’t as good as the Balm Stains, and the Lacquer Balms start to wear off within the first two hours.  If the Balm Stains aren’t moisturizing enough for you, these may be a good choice, but they aren’t my favorite of the three.

RevBalms4

Revlon Colorburst Matte Balm in Standout

I chose Standout in the Matte Balms, and I’m so glad that I did.  It is a gorgeous Christmas red.  It’s opaque and very pigmented.  I was a little wary of the Matte Balms because I usually avoid matte lippies like the plague.  They are usually really drying and completely unforgiving.  I have dryer lips that aren’t 20 anymore, so matte is usually death for me.  But, I heard fantastic things about Standout so I decided to give it a try.  I did not use a liner or anything in the swatch below so that you could see the true color.  However, with a shade like Standout I really recommend a liner for a more precise application.  A  liner will also prevent feathering if you have issue with that.

RevBalms7

Revlon Colorburst Matte Balm in Standout

Standout is matte, but not 100% matte.  There is just the tiniest hint of sheen (for lack of a better word) that gives the color life and vibrancy.  I assume it’s from the coconut oil and shea butter in the formula.  It’s also not drying.  Though I wouldn’t call it moisturizing, the Matte Balms feel pretty good on the lips and don’t give them that parched, shriveled look that many matte lipsticks can do.  I can get several hours of wear-time out of this Matte Balm and don’t need to re-apply the color for about five hours or so.  Also, because it’s a darker color, when Standout does fade, it leaves a gorgeous cherry stain.  I didn’t expect to love the Matte Balms, but I do love Standout.

So, that’s how the new Revlon Colorburst Matte Balms and Lacquer Balms stack up to the originals.  Personally, I am not a big fan of the Lacquer Balms.  I feel like Revlon could have skipped them and just given us even more shades of Balm Stains.  I’m glad that I got Coy, but I have no interest in getting any more.  On the other hand, I think the Matte Balms are a great addition to the lineup.  I know how many people love matte lip colors and it’s tough to find a good matte lippie at the drugstore.  Though the original Balm Stains are my preference, I wouldn’t mind exploring the Matte Balm line a little more and grabbing another shade or two.  Prices vary by location, but you should be able to find them for $6.99-$8.99 without any discounts.  How about you?  Have you tried the Revlon Colorburst Matte Balms and Lacquer Balms?  What were your thoughts?  Any shades I should try?  Let me know in the comments below.