Latest Favorites 2016

Standard
Latest 2016 Favorites

Latest 2016 Favorites

I have a Favorites post for you today.  I haven’t done a Monthly Favorites post for a few months because I didn’t feel like I had enough diversity in the products that I was using.  So instead I decided to do more of a seasonal favorites for the products that I’ve been loving for the last few months.  Some of these items have been featured in recent reviews, but most of them are new.  Let’s take a look.

Ofra Silicone Primer Gel

Ofra Silicone Primer Gel

First and foremost, I have really been loving this Ofra Silicone Primer Gel.  I have always been a fan of silicone primers, and my usual go-to option is the Smashbox PhotoFinish Primer.  The Ofra Silicone Primer Gel has a great, silky-smooth formula.  It’s much more lightweight than the Smashbox primer, but still fills in my pores and wrinkles.  It really makes foundation glide on smoothly and last all day.  It also has a cooling sensation when applied that feels great and is nicely invigorating.  I am a huge fan of this primer, and am glad that I gave it a try.

 It Cosmetics Your Skin But Better CC Cream with SPF 50+

It Cosmetics Your Skin But Better CC Cream with SPF 50+

It Cosmetics Your Skin But Better CC Cream is nothing new to the market, but I had never tried it.  I picked up a deluxe sample after a friend recommended it to me, and I really enjoyed it.  The next time Ulta offered me a 20% off coupon, I had to purchase the full size version.  I love the formula.  It has great coverage, but still looks casual and natural.  It’s the perfect foundation type product for the summer to look like you put in some effort but not too over-done.  It also has SPF 50, so it offers some good sun protection.  It’s a cult favorite for a reason, and I love it.

Makeup Revolution Blushes

Makeup Revolution Blushes

I recently discovered Makeup Revolution Blushes, and I am so impressed with the formula and pigmentation.  It shouldn’t be a surprise, since I love Makeup Revolution Blush palettes, but sometimes the formula differs between palettes and single products.  That’s not the case here.  I started with The Matte Blush in the shade Fusion.  The pigmentation is off the charts here.  I use a duo fiber stipple brush to apply my blushes, so I love a blush with some really good pigmentation.  It is very finely milled and super smooth.  I’d say that it easily holds up to blushes that are 2 or 3 times the price.  Fusion is a lovely warm shade that looks great on my skin.  Next, the Makeup Revolution Baked Blusher in Make Love Instead took me by surprise.  I bought this blush on a whim because it is not my usual fare, but it is so pretty.  My cheeks just glow with it on.  I am way more likely to opt for something fun and shimmery in the summer, and this blush has been perfect.  It’s not as good quality as the matte blushes, but I’ve been enjoying it.  I have been so impressed with the Makeup Revolution brand in general, and these blushes have done nothing but keep the brand in high esteem.

Lorac Pro 3

Lorac Pro 3

It should be no surprise for you to see the Lorac Pro 3 Palette in this mix.  I love the Lorac Pro palettes, especially Pro 2, so when Pro 3 came out, I had to play with it.  I did a full review with swatches in June, so I am not going to get into too much detail here.  You can go ahead and click the link to get all of that information.  Let’s just say that the palette is great, surprisingly versatile, and definitely worth checking out.

TheBalm Meet Matt(e) Trimony Palette

TheBalm Meet Matt(e) Trimony Palette

I reviewed TheBalm Meet Matt(e) Trimony Palette earlier this week, so again, I won’t get into too much detail.  These shadows are really nice.  They will be especially good to have as we transition into Fall, but I’ve been enjoying them now too.  I definitely like this matte palette better than the previous matte palette from theBalm.  It’s laid out so much better and I feel like I will reach for it way more often.  In general, I think that theBalm is an underrated band, but this is a solid palette.  Be sure to check out my review post.

BECCA Beach Tint Shimmer Soufflé

BECCA Beach Tint Shimmer Soufflé

Is there any better time than summer to wear the BECCA Beach Tint Shimmer Soufflés?  They are so gorgeous, and I think that the smooshy gel to powder formula is pretty unique.  I got these on a super sale, but I think that they are worth the splurge even if you do have to pay full price.  I apply them with my e.l.f. Small Stipple brush, and they go on smoothly over foundation and powder for a radiant look.  I am especially loving the Watermelon/Moonstone shade (left), but the Papaya/Topaz (middle) is a fantastic shade for that bronzed goddess look.  I also have Raspberry/Opal (right) which has a cooler tone, but is just as lovely.  I know that that they are rather splurgey for this blog, but they are so beautiful.

ColourPop Ultra Matte Lip in Bumble

ColourPop Ultra Matte Lip in Bumble

I am still loving the ColourPop Ultra Matte Lip in Bumble.  It’s so good!   I love how transfer proof it is.  I hate it when lip product gets on my straws or glasses when I drink water (which I do all day long).  I am not going to reach for an ultra matte lip all the time, but I do love how I can put this on and forget about it.  I know that it won’t budge on me.  I also love this dusty terracotta color.  It looks so good with my skintone.  I need to pick up a few more of these.

Real Techniques Brush Cleansing Palette

Real Techniques Brush Cleansing Palette

A few months ago I pulled the trigger on the Real Techniques Brush Cleansing Palette.  I’ve used it several times now, and I really like it.  This is an obvious drugstore take on the Sigma Spa Brush Cleaning products that are ridiculously priced.  This handy little gadget is about $15, which some of you may still think is ridiculously priced, but you can use the Ulta $3.50 off coupon to knock it down to $11.50.  With two brush cleanser samples included, I thought it was a reasonable price to try it out.  Anything to make brush cleaning faster and more efficient.  It really works.  It fits comfortably on my hand, and the little nubbies do a great job of agitating the bristles to get a deep clean.  The lip catches water nicely and it is dishwasher safe so you can keep any residue from building up.  Thumbs up.

ULTA Regular Instant Nail Polish Remover

Ulta Regular Instant Nail Polish Remover

My final favorite is this Ulta Regular Instant Nail Polish Remover.  I have never used one of these sponge removers, so I’m not sure how the Ulta version compares, but it is so good and only $4.  It easily takes off my polish, even when I’ve done some stamping and there are several layers of polish and topcoat, or if I am wearing water decals.  I don’t find the smell particularly offensive, which I appreciate.  The cuticle dauber is great for stubborn spots and can be used on toe nail polish if you so desire.  I’ve been using it for a couple months, and it is still going strong.  I will definitely repurchase when this tub is gone.

That’s it for what I have been loving lately.  I am not someone who feels like I have to stick to seasonal trends, so they may not necessarily be summer specific products.  But they definitely are great products that I can not get enough of.  I hope that you saw something that you liked.

Leave a comment