Daily Archives: April 14, 2014

e.l.f. Essential Smudge Pot Review

Standard
e.l.f. Essential Smudge Pots

e.l.f. Essential Smudge Pots

I am very excited to show you the new e.l.f. Essential Smudge Pots.  These gel/cream shadows are only $2.00 at eyeslipsface.com, but they pack quite a bit into those tiny jars.  I’m usually a little wary of e.l.f.’s Essential line because it can be very hit and miss, but there is no need to worry this time.  The Smudge Pots are pigmented, have great wear-time, and feel lightweight on the lids.  They are some of the best products to come out of e.l.f. in a while, and you definitely are going to want to check them out.  So, let’s get started.

E.l.f. has this to say about the Smudge Pots: “This smooth gel formula glides on perfectly. Use it as a long-lasting eyeshadow or eyeliner! Enriched with Vitamin E to nourish and hydrate the delicate eye area.  Dip a brush into the pot and apply along the lash line for rich eyeliner color. Use a brush or your finger and apply to the eyelid and buff out for vibrant eyeshadow color.”  I have not use any of the Smudge Pots for eyeliner yet, but I have used them all as cream eyeshadow and color bases for powder shadows, so I can tell you that they work wonderfully.  The formula feels like a gel-cream hybrid.  They aren’t quite as gel-like as the e.l.f. Studio Long-Lasting Lustrous Eyeshadows (which are also pretty awesome), but they are definitely not simply a cream.  The result is a formula that does not dry out and flake, but at the same time does not stay so wet that it creases or fades away.  I really think that e.l.f. nailed it.  I am able to wear the Smudge Pots with no primer and have no issues with creasing whatsoever.  If you have oily eyelids, you may want to use a primer first to extend wear-time.  As it is, the Smudge Pots wore on my dry lids for twelve hours with no creasing and just a tiny bit of fading after the nine hour mark.  The formula is lightweight, so you don’t feel them on the lids.  They blend easily with each other and with powder shadow.  I have nothing but good things to say about them.

e.l.f. Essential Smudge Pots come in nine shades.  I have six of them.  The three that I am missing are Pearls of Wisdom (pearly white), Ocean Bound (dark blue), and Hit the Town (steely charcoal gray).  The darker shades seem to perform better than the lighter shades, mostly because the lighter shades are a bit more sheer.  The lighter shades take more work to blend out evenly, but are still good products.

e.l.f. Smudge Pot in Ain't that Sweet

e.l.f. Smudge Pot in Ain’t that Sweet

Ain’t that Sweet is a frosty iced pink.  It is the most sheer of the Smudge Pots, and the weakest of the six shades that I own.  Because it is sheer, it does take a little work for an even application on the lid.  That being said, it is still a very pretty shade and it still plays very well with others, so it shouldn’t be counted out completely.

e.l.f. Smudge Pot in Gotta Glow

e.l.f. Smudge Pot in Gotta Glow

Gotta Glow is a metallic yellow gold.  Like Ain’t That Sweet, Gotta Glow is a sheer shade.  I find that it performs better and applies more evenly than Ain’t that Sweet, so it is the better choice of the two.  Because I don’t have Pearls of Wisdom, I can’t say how the white shade performs for sure, but my guess would be that it is very similar to both Gotta Glow and Ain’t that Sweet.

e.l.f. Smudge Pot in Back to Basics

e.l.f. Smudge Pot in Back to Basics

Back to Basics is a fiery metallic bronze.  It applies opaque and blends easily.  It looks a little darker in the pan than it actually applies.  Back to Basics is a gorgeous shade, and one that I recommend wholeheartedly.  All four of the darker shades that I have are fantastic.  Here is a swatch of the first three shades.

(L-R) Ain't That Sweet, Gotta Glow, Back to Basics

(L-R) Ain’t That Sweet, Gotta Glow, and Back to Basics

From left to right we have Ain’t That Sweet, Gotta Glow, and Back to Basics.  You can definitely see what I’m talking about when I say that the lighter shades are sheer, especially Ain’t That Sweet.  Back to Basics is easily the strongest of the three.

e.l.f. Smudge Pot in Cruisin Chic

e.l.f. Smudge Pot in Cruisin Chic

Next is Cruisin Chic, which is my favorite shade of the batch.  It is a gorgeous brown-based metallic taupe.  It looks a lot darker in the pan than it actually applies.  I can’t get enough of this shade, but then again, I’ve never met a taupe I didn’t like.  Cruisin Chic is a great everyday option that looks so multidimensional that I can get away with wearing it all by itself, but have it still look like I put way more effort into it.  This is a must-have in my opinion.

e.l.f. Smudge Pot in Brownie Points

e.l.f. Smudge Pot in Brownie Points

Brownie Points is a milk chocolate brown with a subtly metallic finish.  It’s not quite as shiny as Back to Basics and Cruisin Chic.  Brownie Points is a lovely dark brown, not exactly unique, but certainly a staple.  It’s a great crease shade.

e.l.f. Smudge Pot in Poppin Party

e.l.f. Smudge Pot in Poppin Party

Poppin Party is a deep, bold purple.  It has a subtle metallic finish, similar to Brownie Points.  It is a gorgeous purple that stays true to color and doesn’t fade to black on the eye like some dark purples can.  If you are a purple lover, then Poppin Party is a great choice.

(L-R) Cruisin Chic, Brownie Points, Poppin Party

(L-R) Cruisin Chic, Brownie Points, and Poppin Party

Here are the last three shades, from left to right: Cruisin Chic, Brownie Points, and Poppin Party.  As you can see, all three shades are opaque and very pigmented.  A little goes a long way with these shadows, so go slow and be careful not to over-apply.

(L-R) Back to Basics, Cruisin Chic, and Brownie Points

(L-R) Back to Basics, Cruisin Chic, and Brownie Points

And here are the three brown shades next to each other so that you can see the differences.  I think that they are so different from each other that you would be totally justified in getting all three.  While I don’t think the two highlight shades are essential, all four of the darker shades that I have to show you are.  I recommend all four to you, especially Cruisin Chic.

And there you have it, the e.l.f. Essential Smudge Pots are fantastic.  Two thumbs up.  The formula stays creamy long enough to blend, but once it dries, they do not move.  In fact, you will need makeup remover to take them off.  Simple soap and water and a non-makeup remover wipe was not enough to remove the swatches from my hand.  E.l.f. wasn’t kidding around with these Smudge Pots.  I can’t say enough about them.  For $2.00 each, I recommend buying several to try out.  What do you have to lose?  If you have tried the e.l.f. Essential Smudge Pots, I’d love to know your thoughts.  Let me know in the comments below.