Daily Archives: February 5, 2013

Maybelline Color Whisper Lip Colors

Standard
Maybelline Color Whispers

Maybelline Color Whispers

Today I have the new Color Sensational Color Whispers by Maybelline to review for you.  These are hybrid lip products, Maybelline’s answer to Revlon’s Lip Butters or L’Oreal’s Caresse Sticks.  Maybelline says that these new Color Whisper Lip Colors are “Pure color pigments suspended in a weightless gel”.   They claim “Sexy, soft, see-through color with no heavy waxes or oils.  Just a kiss of shine”.  I have to say that I love them, and want to purchase many more.

Maybelline’s Color Whispers are extremely moisturizing, even more so than Revlon Lip Butters.  They go on smoothly and you can really feel the gel texture working it’s magic.  They are extremely lightweight in the lips and don’t feel like lipstick at all.  It’s easy to forget that you are wearing them.  They are so comfortable on the lips, I’ve been finding myself reaching for the Color Whispers instead of my trusty lip balm.  There is the faintest fruity scent if you sniff the tube, but I didn’t notice it at all when applying, and I didn’t notice any discernible taste.  Wear time, as with any hybrid lip product like this, is not great.  I can get two hours of wear if I am not eating or drinking, but they will definitely need to be re-applied throughout the day.  Again, since they basically feel like lip balm I am okay with that.  Those who prefer long-wear lip products shouldn’t bother with these.

There are twenty shades in the Color Whispers line, and some are more pigmented than others.  I strongly recommend looking at swatches online before you purchase because some shades are on the sheer side and some are completely opaque.  I have found the sheer shades to be buildable, but they are still going to have that “sheer color” look, even after being built up.

(L-R) Berry Ready, Orange Attitude, and Made-It Mauve

(L-R) Berry Ready, Orange Attitude, and Made-It Mauve

I have three shades in the line: Berry Ready, Orange Attitude, and Made-It Mauve.

Berry Ready

Berry Ready

Berry Ready is a rich berry shade that goes on completely opaque.  This shade does not require any build-up to achieve bold, bright color.  Because the color is so bold, I found there is a risk of feathering around the edges with this one.  Though I didn’t use a lip liner in the swatch below, I will want to use one when wearing this shade, just to smooth out the edges.  Berry Ready is just as moist as the sheer shades, but there is an interesting difference.  When Berry Ready fades, it leaves behind a lovely soft berry stain on the lips.

Berry Ready

Berry Ready

Orange Attitude

Orange Attitude

Though Orange Attitude looks like an obnoxious orange in the tube, it sheers out on the lips to a very flattering coral shade.  As one of the sheer shades, Orange Attitude does not leave behind a stain and will need to be built up a little on the lips.  The swatch below is two layers.

Orange Attitude

Orange Attitude

Made-It Mauve

Made-It Mauve

I loved Berry Ready and Orange Attitude so much, that I had to go out and get another shade.  I picked up Made-It Mauve, and I think it is my favorite of the three shades that I own.  As another sheer shade, Made-It Mauve is the perfect my-lips-but-better color for me.  It is an excellent every day shade, and I know that I will get a ton of use out of it.  The swatch below is two layers on my lips.

Made-It Mauve

Made-It Mauve

So, my final word on the subject is that Maybelline Color Whispers are really great.  Prices vary based on where you shop.  I’ve seen these listed as high as $7.99 and as low as $5.49 in my area, so keep an eye out for a good deal.  Again, some shades will be very sheer, while others will give you a ton of pigmentation, so know that going in.  I know that some of you have issue with having to re-apply lip products often throughout the day, which can make these hybrid lip products annoying.  The Color Whispers feel so moisturizing on the lips that I, for one, am willing to put up with a little inconvenience.  I think that they rock.  What about you?  Have you tried any of the Maybelline Color Whispers yet?  What did you think?