Daily Archives: March 7, 2014

Fashion Friday: Diamond Candles

Standard
Diamond Candles

Diamond Candles

Today’s review is a Fashion Friday post because the product fits under both the regular fashion and home fashion categories.  I’m talking about Diamond Candles, which are a fun gift idea for candle and jewelry lovers, alike.  My sister’s birthday was last month, and she had mentioned that she really wanted a Diamond Candle.  I remember hearing about the company sometime last year, but hadn’t checked them out.  Thinking of gift ideas, I went to the website, diamondcandles.com,  and ended up buying three candles, one for my sister and (because I couldn’t resist) two for me.  Here is my experience with Diamond Candles.

Diamond Candles are good quality soy wax pillar candles in a glass jar.  They come in a variety of colors and scents.  What makes Diamond Candles different than other candles is that Diamond Candles have a ring inside.  Here is what Diamond Candles says about themselves on their Facebook page: “Our earth friendly soy candles contain a ring worth $10, $100, $1000, or $5000 in every one. We are making burning and using candles fun for the home! We also have classic candles that are ringless for those who just love the fragrance!”  Think Cracker Jacks, for adults.  The Ring Candles all come with a ring surprise inside.  The rings are wrapped in a plastic bag, which is then wrapped in foil and fixed to the side of the candle.  I think that, though not entirely original, Diamond Candles are a cute idea and like getting two gifts in one.  They really are a lot of fun to burn as the anticipation about what ring you will find grows.  If you were the kind of kid who bought cereal based on the toy surprise inside, this is definitely for you.

Diamond Candles True Love

Diamond Candles True Love

The first candle that I burned was in the scent True Love that was one of the holiday scents for Valentine’s Day.  True Love is a fresh floral perfume scent.  Diamond Candles described it as “An inspired sensual fragrance of a classic chilled mojito, feminine floral notes, jasmine, labdanum, cedarwood and tiny notes of pink pepper.”  I really liked the scent, especially for February.  The candles have one large wick that burns pretty evenly.  It does mushroom, though, so you do have to trim the wick before each use.  I thought the True Love fragrance was strong enough to fill the room, but not so strong that it over-powered everything.  When you blow the candles out, they smoke up quite a bit (more so than B&BW candles), so be sure to keep the lid handy and cover it immediately.  The candles are made from 100% soy wax and not from petroleum based parrafin wax, bees wax, or palm wax.  In general, I think Diamond Candles are good quality candles, easily comparable to Bath & Body Works, Party Lite, or Yankee Candles.

True Love ring

True Love ring

This is the ring that I got from the True Love candle.  I think that it’s really cute, and probably something that I’d find at Target or a trendy clothing store for $10 or $15.  I was very happy with my first Diamond Candle experience and anxious to burn my second candle and reveal my next surprise.

Diamond Candles Honeysuckle

Diamond Candles Honeysuckle

I love the Honeysuckle scent from Diamond Candles.  It’s so fragrant and beautiful, perfect for Spring.  That’s not a big surprise, since Honeysuckle is one of my favorite scents in various products, but I can say that Diamond Candles delivered on my expectations for a clean Honeysuckle smell.  It burned just as well as the True Love candle, with all the same pros and cons.  The Ring Candles are 21 oz. and approximately 3.5 inches in diameter and about 6.5 inches tall.  They are true pillars, taller and thinner than B&BW candles, which are 14.5 oz.  I really enjoyed this candle and would definitely repurchase the scent.  Both rings were revealed with the top 30% of the candle, so you don’t have to burn the whole thing to get to your ring.

Honeysuckle ring

Honeysuckle ring

This is the ring that I got out of the Honeysuckle candle.  I was a little disappointed to get another purple stone, but I really like this ring, more so than the first one.  Though Diamond Candles say that you can get a real ring worth hundreds or thousands of dollars, most rings are going to be costume.  However, there is a wide range in quality of costume jewelry in the US, and some quality costume rings can still be worth $50-$100.  I feel like this second ring looks better quality than the first.  I don’t know if my rings are worth anything, but I like them both and would totally wear them both.  Here is a picture of them on.

My Diamond Candles rings

My Diamond Candles rings

So the real question at this point is “Are Diamond Candles worth it?”  Well, that depends on what you are looking for.  Diamond Candles Ring Candles are $24.95 each.  Like I said before, they are good quality and larger than, say, Bath & Body Works candles that retail for $20-$22.50 each.  If you are used to buying quality candles, then you are used to paying around that much for them.  The rings are a bonus, and even the cheap $10 rings cut the candle price down to about $15 for the 21 oz pillar.  I think it’s definitely worth it if you are a regular candle buyer.  However, if you are looking into Diamond Candles for the rings, you are better off skipping the candles and just going to the store to buy a ring yourself.  The Diamond Candle rings are truly a surprise.  You can not choose your personal style or your ring size, so there is no guarantee that you will like the ring you get or that it will fit your finger.  Diamond Candles uses rings that are sized between 4 and 10, though most rings will be 6-8.  The larger ring that I received fits my middle finger perfectly, but the smaller ring is a little snug on my ring finger.  It’s the luck of the draw.  There is a very active facebook page for trading, buying, and selling Diamond Candles rings.  If you don’t like your ring you can sell or trade for one you do like.  So the “Is it worth it” question really depends on your expectations.  If you will be disappointed or angry by a ring that doesn’t fit or you think is ugly, maybe Diamond Candles isn’t for you.  If you view the ring as a fun surprise, or an added bonus to a good candle, then you may really enjoy Diamond Candles.

Diamond Candles

Diamond Candles

I personally am very happy with Diamond Candles.  I had fun burning my candles and revealing my rings.  My sister also really loved the one that I gave her for her birthday.  She got the Sweet Pea scent in her favorite color, purple.  She said that it smelled amazing.  Her ring fit her finger perfectly and is in a style and color that she liked.  It was a great gift.  Diamond Candles is not a huge corporation, and there are some issues because of that.  First of all, you have to order online because there are no brick and mortar retailers at this point, which can be frustrating not being able to smell each sent before you buy.  The main issue that I see is that they frequently blow through their stock.  The fan-base is growing, and Diamond Candles has a hard time keeping up.  Because of this, selection can really vary.  Sometimes there are more than a dozen scents, and sometimes there are only four left in stock.  You have to keep checking back to get the scents that you want, which can be annoying.  On the upside, processing and shipping were no problem.  My order was placed on 1/29, shipped on 1/30 and delivered on 2/7.  Expect a delay around any holiday.  My recommendation, if you want to give Diamond Candles as a gift, is to shop early so that you can be sure to get the candles in time to take care of any issues that may arise.  Also, while my three candles arrived in pristine condition, there is always the risk of breakage when shipping glass.  I’ve seen on the DC facebook page that when candles arrive broken (most likely because of mishandling on part of the shipper), Diamond Candles is quick to take care of the situation.  I am happy with my Diamond Candles experience and will be ordering more at some point.  If you want to order your own Diamond Candles go ahead on click the link to see their website.