Daily Archives: October 27, 2011

Milani Baked Blush and Bronzer

Standard

Milani Baked Blushes and Bronzer

These products aren’t exactly new, (I believe they came out early this year) but they are kind of hard to come by, so you may not have picked up any of the Milani baked line of products.  I encourage you to do so, if you see them, because they are awesome.  This is another product where I feel like I want to buy one in every color, they are that good.  I have three blushes and one bronzer to swatch for you today.

Milani Baked Blushes and Bronzers are, according to Milani’s website: “A luxurious powder that features a mélange infusion of colors baked on Italian terracotta tiles. Easy to use, sensorial in texture, the nuances of color become extraordinarily luminous. Silky smooth application leaves your face looking healthy and radiant all day.”  Although that description is a bit over the top, it is completely accurate.  The product is soft, not chalky at all, and blends like a dream.  And pigmented, boy howdy!  Fairer complexions need to use a light hand because the pigmentation, on the blushes especially, is really intense.  Although there are veins of shimmer running though most of these products, it’s not glittery and easily buffs away if shimmer isn’t your thing.  When buffed out, they leave a luminous healthy glow on the cheeks without turning you into a disco ball.  There are nine blush shades in this collection and three bronzers.  I’ll be covering Rose D’Oro, Red Vino, Terra Sole and Soleil.  I’ll start with the bronzer.

Milani Baked Bronzer in Soleil

Of the three bronzer shades, Soleil is in the middle between Glow and Golden.  It’s a medium bronze with veins of milk chocolate and shimmery gold running through it.  Soleil is not a muddy brown bronzer, but instead gives a rich golden peach glow.  I think it’s a good universal shade, because a light application would suit even very fair skin, and Soleil would make an interesting subtle highlight for very dark skin tones.  I have often heard that the Milani Baked Bronzers are a dupe for MAC Mineralized Skin Finishes, but I don’t own and MSF’s so I can neither confirm nor deny how true that is.  I can say that I am 100% pleased with this bronzer, and can’t think of a way single to improve it.  Now that the weather is turning colder and skin tends to get dull and lifeless, Soleil would be a wonderful addition to your makeup routine.  It’s the perfect golden sheen to brighten up your cheeks.

Milani Baked Blush in Red Vino

Red Vino looks kind of frightening in the pan, but don’t be scared off.  This melange of dark rose, berry red, and gold make a beautiful blush for darker skin tones.  Red Vino will be a great blush to have as we head into the winter months, where darker blushes are more acceptable.  It’s insanely pigmented, so use a light hand, but this gorgeous color is worth the extra effort.  The golds and berries blend together to make such a beautiful cheek color.  I would say that fair skin should stay away, but a light application (much lighter than this swatch, obviously) will still work for those with light-medium skin looking for a bolder cheek.  Remember, blending is  your friend. *wink*

Milani Baked Blush in Terra Sole

Terra Sole is my newest addition and I am so glad that I got it.  Terra Sole is a terracotta color with hints of orange and pink.  It gives off a sunkissed, almost tanned look.  I’ve seen swatches of Terra Sole on dark skin, and the pink seems to stand out more than it does on lighter skin.  Unlike the other three shades discussed in this post, Terra Sole doesn’t contain the marbleized swirls of color.  There is a very faint luminosity when first applied, but that is easily buffed away making Terra Sole almost matte.  For this reason, Terra Sole would also make a terrific contour shade.  Again, fair skin be advised that Terra Sole may be too dark for you, but unless you have very light skin, you can probably make Terra Sole work.

Milani Baked Blush in Rose D'Oro

Rose D’Oro is my favorite of the three Milani blushes that I own.  It is a simply gorgeous shade.  This is a universal shade which gives off a lovely rosy peach shimmer.  It looks like a natural flush and, I swear, it takes years off.  It’s a sweet shade that reminds me of blushing brides and film ingenues.  If you only get one Milani Baked Blush, get Rose D’Oro.  I have heard it compared to the infamous NARS Orgasm, but then again, what hasn’t been?  I don’t own Orgasm, so I can’t tell you how close they are, but I believe that Rose D’Oro is a little darker and a touch more rosy than Orgasm is.  Rose D’Oro is a golden rosy peach that is the star of the show for me.  This swatch doesn’t do it justice.  You have to see Rose D’Oro for yourself.

All in all, Milani Baked Blushes and Bronzers are fabulous products that get two thumbs up.  With nine blush shades and three bronzers, anyone can find a shade or two in this lineup that will look fantastic on their skin.  Prices vary by location, but they are usually $6-$9.  Now, for the hard part.  Milani is found at most drugstores, Target and K-mart.  However, only a few of these stores carry the baked product line.  The only places that I have seen these in-store are CVS and Target.  I have heard that Terra Sole is online only.  I purchased mine through Cherryculture.com, but you can make purchases through Milani’s website milanicosmetics.com.

Speed Read: Milani Baked Blushes and Bronzers are fantastic, highly pigmented baked powder products that are comparable to products many times their price.  Rose D’Oro is an especially flattering, universal shade.

Best for: Those who like well pigmented blushes and don’t mind shimmer.  Also, those who don’t mind ordering online because these are hard to find.

Keep walking: If you can’t handle hard to find items and are not willing to buy online.  Also, with the exception of Terra Sole, don’t bother if you can’t stand shimmer.