Daily Archives: October 31, 2011

Milani Marbleized Baked Eyeshadow

Standard

Milani Marbelized Baked Eyeshadow

Last week I told you about Milani Baked Blush and Bronzers.  Now I want to tell you about their Baked Eyeshadows.  Milani actually has two versions of their baked eyeshadow, Metallic and Marbleized.  I haven’t tried the metallic ones yet, but I’ve been hunting the marbleized ones down for months.  Literally.  I’m going to tell you up front that these are not the easiest products to find, at least not in my area. I first heard about them in May, and wanted them immediately.  I then searched every drugstore and Target in my area for the next five months with no luck.  I know some ladies have found this line in-store, but I have no idea where.  I finally ordered them from Cherry Culture at the end of last month, and they were totally worth the wait.

The Milani Marbleized Baked Eyeshadows are richly pigmented and super soft.  They are very shimmery, so matte lovers may want to skip this one.  Because they are so soft, there is an issue with fallout, but no more than what you would expect from a shimmery baked shadow.  I find it’s better to pat the color on with a wide flat eyeshadow brush (like e.l.f.’s Studio “C” brush for $3) rather than swiping it on to diminish fallout.  Milani Marbleized Baked Eyeshadows are really beautiful wet, and the super intense color is totally buildable.  Dry, they give off more of a softer, subtle look.  It’s almost like getting two shadows in one.  The three colors that I’m covering today are Fusion, Intermix, and Drenched in Gold.

Milani Marbleized Baked Eyeshadow in Fusion

Fusion is a lovely mix of a lavender-rose, plum, and gold.  When applied, it comes off as a warm rosey plum color that pairs beautifully with browns and golds.

Milani Marbleized Baked Eyeshadows in Intermix

Intermix is a melange of coffee, ecru and copper.  When dry, it almost has a pinkish cast that reminds me of rose gold.  Wet, the color really pops and is a beautiful metallic brown that mixes well with a lot of colors.

Milani Marbleized Baked Eyeshadows in Drenched in Gold

Drenched in Gold mixes light gold with a slightly darker yellow-gold, and has sparse veins of chocolate running through.  Dry, this is a great highlight color, but wet in can be used as a warm gold lid color.  There is a ton of sparkle in this shadow, so be aware of that during application.

Milani Marbleized Baked Eyeshadows in Fusion (L) Intermix (C) Drenched in Gold (R). The top row is swatched wet, the bottom swatched dry.

Overall I am really glad that I got the Milani Marbleized Baked Eyeshadows.  They are gorgeous.  As previously stated, I was only able to find them online, but you may luck out and be able to find them in-store in your area.  They are regularly priced  at $7.49, but Cherryculture has them now for $6.99.  Happy hunting!

Speed Read: Milani Marbleized Baked Eyeshadows are richly pigmented, metallic, marbleized shadows.  They have fantastic color pay-off wet, and a subtle, soft application when dry.  Though hard to find, these are great addition to your collection.

Best for: Those who love shimmery baked shadow and want to apply them wet, who don’t mind a little fallout.  Also for those who don’t mind ordering online.

Keep Walking:  If you are a matte girl, someone who doesn’t want to deal with applying shadow wet, or if you can’t handle hard to find products and don’t want to shop online.