NYX Butter Lip Balm

Standard
NYXbutterbalm

NYX Butter Lip Balm

Today I have the NYX Butter Lip Balms to review.  I purchased these balms from Ulta right after they were released, but I’ve been putting this review off because I wanted to give them every chance possible.  The truth is, though, that I just don’t like them.  I’m really surprised because NYX has some of the best low-priced lippies out there, but these butter balms are not my favorite.  Let me explain.

NYXbrowniebalm

NYX Butter Lip Balm in Brownie

Here is what NYX says about their Butter Lip Balms: “Kiss dry lips goodbye with our rich buttery lip balm. This scrumptious Balm melts directly onto the lips leaving a shiny tinted finish behind making lips kissably soft. These delicious formulas come in a variety of colors and flavors.”

I disagree.  I really do not like the formula on these Butter Balms.  They are really heavy on the lips and when they dry down take all the moisture with them.  I think that they end up being really drying after the first ten or fifteen minutes.  They have a horrible cheap smell and taste.  Worst of all, they feel gritty when you apply them.  It’s weird, and really unexpected.  The pigmentation is so sheer that they are imperceptible on the lips.  Granted, the two shades that I got are more natural colors, but still.  I should be able to see something.  Brownie, the shade pictured above, is supposed to be a natural brown/beige according to NYX.  Biscotti, below, is Nude with slight pink undertones.  On the lips there is no difference between the two, and they may as well be clear for all the color payoff that they give.

NYXbiscottibalm

NYX Butter Lip Balm in Biscotti

Here is a swatch of the two.  Brownie is on top and Biscotti is below.  This is a very heavy swatch with me going over and over with the product to get the color to show.  You wouldn’t want to wear this many layers on the lips because it feels heavy and waxy when applied this much.  Even built up to the max, the swatches are still pretty light.  Perhaps the other shades, specifically the red and fuchsia, are more pigmented.  Even so, I’m not interested enough to test them.  This formula isn’t worth it.

NYXbutterbalm2

NYX Butter Lip Balms: top Brownie, Bottom Biscotti

All in all, I’d say skip the NYX Butter Lip Balms and use your $4.00 toward a Palladio tinted lip balm instead.  They cost the same but look, smell, and feel better, and are a much better product all around.  As much as I love NYX lippies in general, the NYX Butter Lip Balms are a fail for me.  How about you?  Have you tried the NYX Butter Lip Balms?  Like them?  Hate them?  Let me know your experience in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

Leave a comment