E.l.f. Essential Lip Balm Tint Review

Standard
elfLipBalms1

e.l.f. Essential Lip Balm Tint

I have been wanting to try the new(ish) e.l.f. Essential Lip Balm Tints for a while, but they were sold out for a long time.  I was finally able to get my hands on them in my last e.l.f order, and now I have them for review.  There are four shades in the line, but I only have three of them.  I opted for Peach, Grapefruit, and Berry.  I decided to skip the fourth shade, Nude, thinking that it would be too sheer.  But now I may have to pick it up as well because these lip balms are pretty great.

elfLipBalms2

e.l.f. Essential Lip Balm Tints

I’m going to start with the negative because I only have one real complaint about the e.l.f. Essential Lip Balm Tints.  The Lip Balm Tints come in small pots with screw-top lids.  It is definitely no-frills packaging, but at only $2.00 each, that’s to be expected.  The thing is, I actually hate potted lip products because I don’t like having to stick my fingers in my products and lip brushes aren’t always handy.  It’s messy, I have a really hard time getting a precise look with my fingers, and then there is the contamination issue.  I’d prefer a squeeze tube or clicky pen.  But I am willing to overlook this major flaw because it’s the only bad thing I have to say about the Lip Balm Tints.

On to formula, this is what e.l.f. has to say about the Lip Balm Tints: “This lightly tinted lip balm gives the perfect flush of color for a beautiful, natural look. The Coconut, Grape, Shea Butter and Rice Wax infused formula conditions lips on contact for long-lasting, hydrating comfort.”  These balms have a very similar feel to the Nivea Lip Butters, but are slightly less slippy.  They feel amazingly moisturizing on the lips, and don’t dry out as they wear like some balms can do.  I am a girl with pretty dry lips and I am obsessed with lip balms, so I love products that feel really hydrating and healing while still giving me color and glamor.  And that’s exactly what these Lip Balm Tints do.  They have really good pigmentation that can be worn sheer or built up for almost opaque color.  They do have a very sweet taste that I’m not really a fan of, but I feel that way about most lip products.  I know many of you like that, though, so to each her own.  The sweet taste does linger on the lips for a good long while.

elfLipBalmspeach1

e.l.f. Essential Lip Balm Tint in Peach

The first e.l.f. Essential Lip Balm Tint I have to show is in Peach.  This is a light peachy coral shade that is pretty sheer.  It provides a subtle peachy tint to the lips that can be built up a bit, but won’t reach the same bright color as in the pot.  Still, it does provide the lips with a hint of color that is very pretty and adds a nice warmth to a semi-nude lip.

elfLipBalmspeach2

e.l.f. Essential Lip Balm Tint in Peach

elfLipBalmsgrapefruit1

e.l.f. Essential Lip Balm Tint in Grapefruit

The second e.l.f. Essential Lip Balm Tint, and my favorite of the bunch, is in Grapefruit.  Grapefruit is a red-toned medium pink.  It is a universally flattering shade because it is neither too warm, nor too cool.  It’s a lovely pink grapefruit or watermelon shade that livens up your face without looking bold or like you are trying too hard.  This a great color for aging lips as well as a young, fresh face.  I have built the color up a little in this swatch, so it can be worn more sheer if that is your preference.

elfLipBalmsgrapefruit2

e.l.f. Essential Lip Balm Tint in Grapefruit

elfLipBalmsberry1

e.l.f. Essential Lip Balm Tint in Berry

The final e.l.f. Essential Lip Balm Tint that I have to show you is Berry.  If you want to ease into a red lip, this is the shade for you.  This beautiful berry red is very easy to wear.  If you want a bolder lip for fall, but don’t want to go with the dark vampy shades that are popular right now, try this one out.  I’ve built Berry up in this swatch so that you could see how opaque the Lip Balm Tints can get.  You can wear it more on the sheer side for a lovely “I just ate a Popsicle” stain.

elfLipBalmsberry2

e.l.f. Essential Lip Balm Tint in Berry

The e.l.f. Essential Lip Balm Tint can migrate into fine lines as they melt into your lips, so a clear lip pencil like the e.l.f. Lip Locker might be a nice addition.  Tinted lip balms don’t usually last very long on the lips, and these are no exception.  I can get about two hours out of them, depending on if I’m eating or drinking.  Again, I wish they weren’t in pot form to make re-applying easier, but they are so good that I suffer through the annoyance.

All in all, I love the e.l.f. Essential Lip Balm Tints and recommend that you give them a try.  They are $2.00 at eyelipsface.com.  I don’t know if they will be showing up at Target any time soon.  (BTW: did you know that e.l.f is now permanently offering free shipping on all orders over $35?  It’s about time.  E.l.f.’s shipping is pretty high, so I’m glad that they are finally offering a break on larger orders.)  I really like these Lip Balm Tints.  E.l.f. really got it right here.  I think that the e.l.f. Essential Lip Balm Tints are definitely worth it.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

8 responses »

  1. I have three of these (in Nude, Grapefruit and Peach) and I love them all! As you pointed out, the packaging leaves a bit to be desired, but otherwise they’re awesome! Thanks for the review; it’s always fun to know I’m not the only one loving a particular product. 🙂

Leave a comment