Daily Archives: November 8, 2013

October 2013 Favorites

Standard
Octfavs

Monthly Favorites October 2013

I’m back today with my Monthly Favorites from October.  I’m still sick from a nasty sinus infection.  I’ve spent most of this week lying on the sofa drifting in and out of consciousness while watching Glee on Netflix (yep, I’m that sick).  But, I’m feeling a little better and I wanted to get my favorites up before it gets any later.  Most of my October makeup choices were experiments, trying to test products that would stand up to Florida heat while I was on vacation.  I ended up with a really good mix of products that held up really well on my trip.

OctfavsUD

Urban Decay Blush in Overexposed

I could name the entire Urban Decay Shattered Face Case as a favorite this month, but since I just did a review on it, I’ll stick to one product in the Face Case that I can’t get enough of.  I love the blush in Overexposed that comes in the case.  It is such a good color for my skin.  It’s dark enough to show up, but light enough to look really natural.  The matte, warm mauve-toned nude is the perfect shade for me and I wore it most days as my blush of choice.  The formula blends really well and has pretty decent staying power.  For swatches and to see my review of the Shattered Face Case by Urban Decay, click here.

OctfavsCG

CG Outlast Stay Fabulous 3-in-1 Foundation

I am so glad that I had Cover Girl Outlast Stay Fabulous 3-in-1 foundation while in Florida.  I brought a couple options with me, but this is the foundation that I used everyday of my trip.  I’ve never sweat so much in my life!  No offense to anyone who lives there, but I can’t handle a place where it’s 90 degrees on Halloween.  CG Outlast gave me great coverage that held up through the sweltering heat and humidity for 14-hour days in the parks.  The SPF 20 was also a plus.  The only thing is that I have to wear a primer with this foundation because it does sink into pores without one.  But, I wear a primer with all of my foundations anyway, so it’s no big deal for me.  With a primer, it looks fantastic on the skin and blends in really well.  This would be a great choice for oily skin too, so check it out.

OctfavsJordana

Jordana Liner in Charcoal Definition

I reviewed the Jordana 12HR Made to Last Liquid Eyeliner Pencils a couple weeks ago and mentioned how great the staying power was.  I want to say again that they are fantastic.  I wore Charcoal Definition almost every day of my trip.  No matter what I put it through, this liner did not budge.  It looked freshly applied at the end of the day, despite sweating in 90 degree heat and getting a face full of water on Splash Mountain.  I can’t believe that these liners are only three or four dollars.  They are so good.  To see my review click here.

OctfavsZapper

e.l.f. Zit Zapper

I’ve mentioned e.l.f. Zit Zapper before, but it deserves another mention.  With traveling to a different climate, using heavy-duty sunscreen, and everything my skin was exposed to, I had a few spots to deal with.  E.l.f. Zit Zapper really works.  I would not use this on a large area of acne because the blend of Salicylic Acid, Tea Tree Oil, Witch Hazel and Camphor can be harsh on the skin.  However for a spot treatment, it’s really effective.  For $1, I totally recommend it to everyone.

OctfavsSH

SH Salon Effects in Frockstar

I have gotten back into Sally Hansen Salon Effects Nail Polish Strips.  They are so easy and they stay really well on my nails.  Not wanting to mess with nail polish while on vacation, I applied Frockstar (a total glitter bomb) Saturday night.  It stayed with no chipping or issues until the following Friday.  Once you get the hang of applying them, the polish strips couldn’t be easier and there is no curing or processing needed for an artistic mani that stays put for a week.

OctfavsBBW

B&BW Seattle Hazelnut Latte Hand Soap

Last but not least is this amazing scent from Bath & Body Works.  Seattle Hazelnut Latte was released with the other Fall scents.  Oh my god, you guys, this scent is amazing.  According to B&BW, the scent is described as “Seattle coffee beans roasted with hazelnuts and warm vanilla sugar”.  It smells so good that I could drown in a vat of this stuff and die happy.  Unfortunately B&BW only made this scent available in the hand soap and not the body wash or lotion.  I wish that I could get the scent in more varieties because it smells so good.  I know that the Winter scents are already being pushed, but you can still get the Fall scents for a bit longer.  I totally recommend going to your local B&BW to smell Seattle Hazelnut Latte.

That’s it for my October favorites.  I hope that you enjoyed them.  The first week of November is over, and I am looking forward to the Holiday season and can’t wait to start decorating for Christmas.  I know that I’m a few weeks early since most people would say that the holiday season doesn’t kick off until Thanksgiving.  But I am ready.  This is my favorite time of year.  Halloween, Thanksgiving and especially Christmas are my favorite holidays.  I’m feeling really positive.  The first half of 2013 was pretty rough for me, but I plan on closing it out with a bang.  Only good times from here on out.  Who’s with me?  🙂